We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Bad Place”
Review of Super 8 Ridgecrest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ridgecrest
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Place”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Pretty good for the price. Seeing the room and overall property, I knew it wasn't originally a Super 8. We saw the place fills up even on week nights. The TV set is what I expected, but they had both HBO and Showtime, not one or the other like most cheap motels. My wife has me always reserved top floor rooms and they gave us one towards the front of the property. After checking in, getting ready to go to dinner, three 15 passenger vans arrived with college age kids. When we returned from dinner, I knew they were gone to eat and on their return, they stayed up, running around, joking and laughing, young men and women till after 11 PM, which irritated my wife and the management said and did nothing.I was going to call the front desk at 11:30 but the noise had stopped. My wife was OK with the poor continental breakfast in the morning and I was happy with the room overall. Not much parking available, the small lot fills up, I still don't know where they put all those kids. So concerning the cost, it's not a bad place, but on the way back thru town from Death Valley two days later, we stayed down the street at Motel 6, where we usually sleep when passing through Ridgecrest on a Geocaching Trip.

Room Tip: Top floor (second Floor here) should be quieter at any place. Get a room more to the back of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    42
    35
    33
    36
See reviews for
55
72
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We think this has recently become part of the super chain as there was a sign in the lobby. Might of been called 'vagabonds'? So it possibly hasn't been updated yet. Still has an ancient CRT TV which shows how old it is. Room was clean and well kept and shower was good. Main issue was noise. Our upstairs neighbours were clattering and banging about and the gap under the front door was so big every time someone went past you could hear them clearly. Breakfast is very basic too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flux f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ridgecrest hotels

La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Quite surprised at the low rate; great service and cleanliness of room. Bathroom was newly tiled, painted and CLEAN. Beds could have been firmer but for this price it worked! Cold cereal, toast, coffee and juice then on our way. See you again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom and Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here for a night, on the way to death valley.I have to say motel exceeded my expectations,clean room, comfortable bed, decent breakfast, clean showers. I would definitely stay here next time.
We checked in at midnight, and slept really well.The break fast room has only two tables.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelophile_Banjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ridgecrest hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western China Lake Inn
Best Western China Lake Inn
#3 of 12 in Ridgecrest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Ridgecrest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
#6 of 12 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
#2 of 12 in Ridgecrest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ridgecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ridgecrest

Property: Super 8 Ridgecrest
Address: 426 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555-4610 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Ridgecrest)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ridgecrest 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce our recently renovated rooms, new carpets, bedding, new continental breakfast like, 2 type of cereal, cinnamon rolls, assorted variety of yogurt, toast, waffles, tea, coffee, fresh fruit, orange juice, assorted variety of oatmeal.Same great costumer service, for our wonderful guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ridgecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Ridgecrest
Vagabond Motel Ridgecrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing