We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Reve

Mon Reve
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Ridgecrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Budapest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I would not eat here again. Food took a long time and was not great. The salmon we ordered was tough and very over cooked. Stroganoff sauce was nice but the beef was tough . Nice place for ridgecrest but that's not saying much. Just my experience, nothing more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    27
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning find in Ridgecrest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Born and raised here and moved away in the 80s. I live in a city of 5 million, and Mon Reve matches or tops the best of French dining in it.

A wonderful, wonderful experience and a gem in the IWV.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverDaveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigredusmc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

In our small town, this is THE best restaurant in town. My first experience was during a corporate holiday meal. Mon Reve is French for "My Dream". The chef (yes, he's French) is a very warm and inviting gentleman who takes pride in his work and you can taste it. I recommend you plan far in advance as the reservations accumulate quickly. The environment is akin to a Tuscan villa with the paint and art, but very relaxing and romantic. I ordered the filet mignon with the ratatouille with an actual German beer (score!). The dish was cooked to perfection. Tons of flavor and the perfect portion size. Once I cleaned my plate, dessert was offered and while many of my colleagues opted for an espresso, I couldn't resist the temptation of the chef's Apple Tart with ice cream. One word...outstanding! He's a master of his craft and brings his love of food to the high desert of California. I would highly recommend Mon Reve to anyone. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigredusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I really liked this quaint restaurant, when I visited a couple of years ago. Upon my arrival, the nice host noticed that I spoke french. After my friend and I were seated, we were surprised to see the owner (?) coming over to talk to me in french. It was a nice gesture of him. The evening was busy and the overall service was okay. I did appreciate the food. It was reasonably priced as well. Good food coming out of the desert was appreciated. I would go again if I had the opportunity.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LunaSola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ridgecrest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good find in the desert.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

One of the few places that actually really tries to put out a good product. Not as good as a place which is now closed, but far superior service. Best restaurant in town. Maddy's Cottage, Junior's Tacos, and Bernadinos are the only other places I will go eat in town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank veegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mon Reve also viewed

Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 
Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 
Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 

Been to Mon Reve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing