We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine French Feel”
Review of Mon Reve

Mon Reve
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Ridgecrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Genuine French Feel”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We checked Trip Advisor from our hotel and ended up going here for dinner. It was a good choice.

The restaurant owner is French (or at least did a good impression!) and the restaurant had a genuine French feel. It was a Tuesday night but still very busy although we got a table without having to wait.

The food was great. Fresh and tasty. Both of us enjoyed our meals and the portions were not too big (a good thing).

The service was a little slow (it took about an hour for our main course to arrive) and the post dinner coffee was terrible but don't let that put you off! If you are in Ridgecrest then this place is a great place to eat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    27
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrightwood, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I went here with our daughter...it was excellent!! We both had the French onion soup, salade prosciutto, and Creme brûlée...all were delicious. The interior is charming with French inspired murals and the server was friendly and efficient. The chef also came out several times to greet customers. What a wonderful little restaurant...we never expected to find anything like this in Ridgecrest, we will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I would not eat here again. Food took a long time and was not great. The salmon we ordered was tough and very over cooked. Stroganoff sauce was nice but the beef was tough . Nice place for ridgecrest but that's not saying much. Just my experience, nothing more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning find in Ridgecrest”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Born and raised here and moved away in the 80s. I live in a city of 5 million, and Mon Reve matches or tops the best of French dining in it.

A wonderful, wonderful experience and a gem in the IWV.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverDaveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigredusmc
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

In our small town, this is THE best restaurant in town. My first experience was during a corporate holiday meal. Mon Reve is French for "My Dream". The chef (yes, he's French) is a very warm and inviting gentleman who takes pride in his work and you can taste it. I recommend you plan far in advance as the reservations accumulate quickly. The environment is akin to a Tuscan villa with the paint and art, but very relaxing and romantic. I ordered the filet mignon with the ratatouille with an actual German beer (score!). The dish was cooked to perfection. Tons of flavor and the perfect portion size. Once I cleaned my plate, dessert was offered and while many of my colleagues opted for an espresso, I couldn't resist the temptation of the chef's Apple Tart with ice cream. One word...outstanding! He's a master of his craft and brings his love of food to the high desert of California. I would highly recommend Mon Reve to anyone. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigredusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mon Reve also viewed

Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 
Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 

Been to Mon Reve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing