We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Redwoods Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rio Dell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Humboldt Gables Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rio Dell
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Redwoods Stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Spent two nights here in early September 2013 and was greeted by a very kind and knowledgeable staff who gave great recommendations for DJ's burgers down the road. The room was exceptionally clean; mini-fridge, microwave, and open WiFi, super comfy King bed. Very quiet here, too. About 10 minutes to Ave of the Giants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iamwashable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
18
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was nice place to stay. A little outdated, but clean. We reviewed this hotel online and did expect more. We were running late and Dave was very understanding. We wanted to stay near Rio Dell and this was a great location. Also, when we travel we try to stay at a locally owned place to help out the locals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Re-read these reviews and I truly don't understand how so many people said how clean this place was. It was a throw back to the 70's gold carpet and burgundy sheets, cracked lino in the bath tiny closed in tiled shower, and not a nice smell. If I wasn't exhausted from our day and we had any other option, I would have asked my husband not to stay here. Granted I am a clean freak and I think it is important in a non chain motel to have white sheets that smell like bleach. If the sheets are burgundy they are not bleached. The thin blankets had holes. Towels were white, bleached and clean. The shower alternated temp rapidly from warm to freezing during our two showers. Lights on all night outside the motel for safety was good. But lit the room even with the curtain shut. Was quiet at night and the owner was very nice and helpful with trip advice but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bethany2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here just for two nights during our 22 day road trip around California and Nevada.

Being from the UK, I had in my mind what a 'typical' roadside small family run motel would be like - and this did not disappoint.

Dave, the owner, is a nice guy and very helpful. Although we have the same surname we are not related! In fact, Daves brother has exactly the same name as me!

We stayed in a wide range of accommodations during our three weeks - ranging from Motel 6 to Marriotts and Hamptons - and this motel has the BEST towels - honestly - super soft.

Clean, comfortable and quiet. What else do you need.

If you are considering this area then you must be coming for the redwoods etc but ask Dave about other things to do/see. Go to the Samoa Cookhouse - superb - and Eureka etc.

Thanks Dave - wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We wanted to stay near the Redwoods but not in the bigger city. Rio Dell was centrally located. The town is very small with not much to do, but we were there only to sleep. The Humboldt Gables Motel was a very pleasant surprise. The outside was very modest -- in old motor inn style. But the rooms were nice -- clean and updated. The beds were comfortable. The towels were thick and soft. It was very quiet. If you are just looking for a clean basic motel this is perfect.

Room Tip: Take the side drives -- Drury Scenic Parkway & Avenue Of The Giants.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shastabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croghan, NY
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night while traveling up 101. Originally looked for a hotel in Fortuna, but came across this motel in brochure on Avenue of the Giants. Read the reviews here and decided to give it a try. We are glad we did. Nice sized room, comfortable beds, decent TV stations, very clean, good wifi, helpful management. Not much right in Rio Dell but good eating in Fortuna.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyCroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stumbled on to the Humboldt while looking for a place to stay on our trip to Oregon. Most of the places we saw near the redwoods had mixed reviews and then we found the Humboldt!
This motel is excellent. It is of the old style motor in where you park in front of your room. The room was tastefully decorated, very clean and organized. The beds were very comfortable and when I got into bed my wife did not end up rolling into me because of the mattress. The towels are large and soft compared to the small hard ones you normally get at motels.
The man at the front desk was really helpful throughout the whole questions before reservation process and the actual reservation itself. On the way here we were running behind and kept the motel informed but the manager made recommendations of where we could order food and pick it up before the small town closed up - the result was us having a hot pizza ready for pick up and not having to eat out of a vending machine that night. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone passing through, or wishing to really visit the redwoods. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Dell
5.9 mi away
Best Western Country Inn
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Fortuna
200 reviews
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
10.3 mi away
Bear River Casino Resort
6.0 mi away
The Redwood Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt Gables Motel

Property: Humboldt Gables Motel
Address: 40 W Davis St, Rio Dell, CA 95562-1201
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Rio Dell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rio Dell
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Humboldt Gables Hotel Rio Dell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing