We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic Experience/Great Value”

Van Buren Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #9 of 41 things to do in Riverside
Attraction details
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Experience/Great Value”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I've been coming here since the good old days and I still love it!
$7 for 2 movies (new releases!)
Outdoor movie entertainment on a summer's evening
Bring all the snacks you want
Only complaints are the people who arrive late and drive around with headlights on (which i do my best to ignore) AND the cigarette smokers (at which times i cover my mouth with my shirt.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraZ997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Van burden drive in- a blast from the recent past”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Love this place! They show first rate movies and you can get 2 movies always for the price of admission. The snack bar is heavy on southwest inspired snacks but popcorn is still available. Arrive early as the only downside is trying to get in just before the movie starts. Traffic can be a nightmare otherwise. Recommend coming in northbound on Van Buren to make a right hand turn in rather than crossing traffic

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 961leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family experience!!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience at a drive-in but was a wonderful time..
The place is large with three screens showing 6 movies and for the price of one movie you can watch what's playing next on your screen for free. Yet it's still cheaper then paying for one ticket at the in house theatre.

You can come in with your own food and drink tune in on your radio to the movie and listen and watch from your own car. Or you can bring some chairs sit outside your car roll your windows down and turn your radio up and enjoy...

The bathrooms aren't the greatest... Oh and leave your car running with the headlights off of course so that you won't run down your battery. ( we saw some people needing jumps) FYI if you have daytime running lamps, turn your car off pull or press the parking brakes and then turn your car on your lights should stay off.

Other then that it's a great family experience!!!!!

Oh the kids loved it!!! We saw Monsters Inc. We plan on watching as many kid and family movies there :-) as we can.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“new equipment”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

going to the drive inn is like stepping back in time ... everytime we go we have a fantastic time ... good family fun ... always a double feature ... and priced right ... even the food is reasonable ... and lots to choose from at the snack bar ... even if you do not buy any food there make sure you go into the snack bar ... lots of old photos of Riverside and the drive inn itself ...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nostalgic”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

i love the drive in. Long gone are the speakers and poles. I love that we can see two new movies for $7 per person, bring in our own food and chairs. The snack bar is reasonably priced and the food is par for theater food. It's very family friendly. Actually, I enjoy watching the younger generation enjoy something so nostalgic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Buren Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Van Buren Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing