We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still going strong.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This was my fourth stay and I hafta say, it's still as good as ever... Great cocktails in the presidents bar.... Awesome food in the outdoor Mexican restaurant... All round magnificent hotel, surrounds and service.... Thanks again !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Mission Inn is iconic in Riverside. It is the jewel of Riverside. Walking inside the hotel grounds is lakin to stepping back into time. It has a very European/Spanish feel and although expensive is a nice place to stay and explore. The best part of the Mission in is exploring it. Make sure you go everywhere and see everything, don't just stay in your room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeremyRiverside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed for one Thursday night, with plans to see Leon Russell and Dr. John in concert at the Fox Theater a block away. Took the train in from Orange County, and walked from the train station -- a pleasant 20 minute walk.

The hotel is absolutely breathtaking! From the moment you enter the property, you're constantly surprised by beautiful and unique accents -- parrots at the entryway! An antique Steinway piano! President Taft's custom built chair!

The staff was incredibly hospitable and all seemed very knowledgeable about the hotel's fascinating history. Our room was comfortable, with a nice view of the courtyard restaurant -- looking at the courtyard we felt like we were in Europe. We had a wonderful time exploring the hotel -- chapels, the rotunda, antiques everywhere -- it was wonderful!

Back to more practical considerations -- the room was very comfortable and spacious. The pool area was fantastic. Food at the Mission Grill (I think that's the name) restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

To top this all off, we say both Leon Russell and Dr. John walking around the property! Seems like if you're seeing a show at the Fox theater, the main acts may be staying at this hotel.

The hotel was fairly busy for a mid-week night -- birthday parties, wedding rehearsals, etc. I suspect that over the weekend the hotel is probably quite busy with parties. If you get a chance to stay mid-week when things are probably less bustling, this may be your best bet to get a chance to fully enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

What a stunning building! So beautiful they even do 'museumtours' of over an hour (great to participate in one). Everywhere there are hideouts, spiral staircases, I got to see the Keeper of the Inn suite where GW Bush stayed, fabulous!
Our room was spacious, with an extra room at the far end we we could have played chess and stuff. We had good beds. The bathroom is small.
Some less comfortable details: it's a bit noisy: bells ringing (from 08:00 until about 22:30), train honking throughout the night. Did a great tour through the hotel. Ther is no wifi unfortunately.
We enjoyed diner in 2 restaurants: italian and mexican, both great places who are affordable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phutjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great hotel! The services was excellent! However, If you book a wedding here, do not use LJP Events. They don't know what they're doing. Our friend's wedding was out of control! Hard to believe that they are allowed to represent this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

A perfect girlfriend getaway or romantic escape. Highly recommend to add a day at nearby Glen Ivy day spa.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvtravlHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Loved the Mexican food sitting outside under an umbrella. The staff was friendly and guacamole made fresh at the table was fabulous. A memorable experience. Didn't stay at the hotel but the lobby is beautiful and historic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank QAnnBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
6.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Spa Moreno Valley
Ayres Hotel & Spa Moreno Valley
#1 of 9 in Moreno Valley
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: £125 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing