We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic charm and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Historic charm and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We recently spent three nights at this hotel as my husband had business meetings on the property. What a wonderful experience! The hotel is full of amazing history. Its archetecture is amazing, as well as all the art and furniture that fills every bit of the property. We took some time to explore the different wings as well as a quick visit to the museum and enjoyed ourselves. My kids loved the pool. The front desk, valet, and maid service were all fabulous.
The one negative to our stay was our room location. Our room overlooked main street- the pedestrian walkway to boutiques and shops. We had loud late night screaming from the street (3 am) as well as daily early morning leaf blowers. Also, the constant sound of a cukoo clock anytime anyone pressed the button to cross the street at the light. About 8 am the classical music would start playing across the shopping area. I strongly suggest requesting a room that is in another part of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    378
    113
    73
    86
See reviews for
366
561
64
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Very unique dinning in a historically impressive setting. The dinning area is separated into several areas and the outdoor courtyard with hanging flowers and stars overhead is romantic and unique dinning area.

The menu has tempting choices and there also is a buffet that has a wide range of salad - entree - and dessert choices and at a reasonable price. There is an out door fountain and artwork on every area you view and there is also a corner clock which announces the hourly time and has statuary that moves around while the hour is chimed out. Service is attentive and accommodating - the chef prepared an excellent vegan option for one of our guests.

An excellent choice for a memorable occasion to celebrate - it has been a favorite place for our celebrating with friends for a number years.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel - just had the dining experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 764pwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Before you all go ape. I've heard the rooms and service are fantastic. My bad experience began and and ended at the reception desk. My review is directed to the management. In search for my wife's birthday present I picked up a brochure at the desk. It advertised reasonably priced one night stay including a variety of complementary offerings for the month of March. I told the Clerk I was interested in the special deal for March and to check for any Friday or Saturday. The receptionist immediately began pushing for a 2 night stay, then upgrading from deluxe to something better. What is better than deluxe I asked? She said the bed is bigger. I said no thanks all I'm interested in is the deal offered on the brochure. She continued with a sort of hard sell game, describing rooms other than what was on the brochure. I said no all I am interested in is this (pointing at the spot on the brochure). She continued to banter about with other offerings. She eventually admitted the room in the brochure was not available. I do not know why she could not have said that in the first place. I felt I was being sold a car by the stereo-typical used car salesman or super sizing my fries. This is a typical case of bait and switch and the management should be ashamed. In the end I couldn't take the abuse anymore, I gave up and walked out. I'll never know how good the rooms are. Nor will my wife. I walked out in disgust.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelcherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We spent a horrific night in two different rooms in December a few years back during their Christmas Lights spectacular. One room was way too close to a loud wedding, so the manager moved us into a quirky two level unit away from the wedding. After falling asleep we were woken up every 20-30 minutes by train horns from a crossing that is just a few blocks away. It was horrible and we will never go back. The lights and restaurant are great, just don't stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
351 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Everything was exceptionally fantastic and beautiful! Quiet location in Riverside, Ca., amazing pool to relax by surrounded by palm trees and flowered balconies. Spa available and gift shops, fountains, shopping area, wonderfully accommodating staff and clean Mediterranean luxurious surroundings. Krueig coffee maker in room was nice added touch. In room crystal wine glasses and goblets free for use. There was a big window seat that you could nap on and the windows were arched opening g for fresh air from the balcony. Wonderful and would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very nice. No problem with front desk service or valet. Everything, and I mean everything, is pricey. There was a mini fridge in the room, however it was already full so we couldn't use it. The room was big. Everything was clean. The heat didn't seem to work in room 320. But it was quiet and very relaxing none the less. Walked the grounds of the hotel after dark and the hotel takes on a whole new life at that time. Exploring each floor brought new surprise patios and views. I recommend everyone stay here at least once in their lifetime.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pgvet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germantown, md
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We've been to a lot of hotels over the years, but this one stands out. The setting, the historic character, the architecture, the atria and gardens -- amazing. The rooms are classy (but they do lack a microwave), large, clean, well-appointed. Some of the on-site restaurants are a bit pricey, buy you don't have to eat there all the time. When we did eat at the hotel, the food was excellent. The staff are well-trained, very friendly and helpful. We were there for a two-day business conference, but would definitely return just for pleasure. When (not if) you go, make sure to say "Hello" to Josephine and Napoleon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banjobwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing