We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must stay if in Riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel far exceeded our expectations. The hotel is larger than I expected and well maintained. Our room was clean and in good shape. The bathroom could use minor tlc. The bathroom was not bad but just not the same quality as the room and the rest of the hotel. The staff was unbelievably friendly and seemed like wanted to help out with anything.. They will charge (I think it was $15) for overnight parking. We parked ½ block away for free- We discovered this on one of our morning walk/run when we talked with the parking attendant. The pool was very relaxing and a good place to sit by the pool, sip on a drink and enjoy life. My wife fell in love with the millionaire mimosa. We waited a very long time to get someone to serve us at the pool so I walked into the Presidents Bar and brought the drinks/food to the pool. Oddly enough there was happy hour (half price drinks/food if I remember correctly) in the bar and not at the pool. We took daily walks around the town and felt very comfortable but it is CA so you will see some homeless people around but they generally didn’t bother us. Very good place for romantic weekend. The only misfortune was the service at Duane’s. We had to get the maitre d’ to clean the table. I’m sure the steaks/sides were great but with the poor service it really pulled down the “mental/emotional” food quality. We went there to be wined and dined but it was really hard to do with poor service. The service was so poor we did order dessert, another side dish, more wine and after dinner drinks so the bill was only $160 for two when it could have been much more than that. I left a comment card which I rarely do but that’s hos bad the service was and the F&B Mngr called me to discuss my comments. He seemed genuine in explaining to me that they were busier than expected for a Tuesday night but that was it. I will absolutely go back to the Mission Inn but may venture out of the hotel when seeking a nice dinner. I am told there is a nice tapas restaurant just a few blocks away that we’ll try. We did try the other restaurant at the hotel and received great service and food just as we did at the Presidents Bar. This would be a star but with the poor service I have to take a star away – unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
There are newer reviews for The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

You could spend hours just looking at all the architectural detail in this huge hotel - and it's worth e very minute.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a small balcony overlooking the pool. We asked for a quite room and they delivered.

The hotel staff for the most part was professional, especially Austin, the Bellman who first greeted us and showed us to our room.

The bar where we went for drinks and appetizers was very nice like the rest of the hotel but the bar staff was very slow (at 4PM) and enjoyed each others company more than the customers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon, from July 16-18. The building itself is lovely and atmospheric, with lots of history (e.g. the Taft chair), large, well-appointed rooms and lots of amenities on site. However, we did feel let down by a number of service glitches. On our first morning, the electronic lock on our room door failed, and it took housekeepers and engineers half an hour to let us back in. One of them commented, unconcernedly, that those locks always fail in bright, hot sunlight, and didn't seem to regard replacing them with locks that do work as a priority. The valet parking took nearly 20 minutes to retrieve our car on two occasions (combined with the lock debcale, this made us late for an appointment). The on-site bar and restaurants serve nice food and drink, but at very high end prices. Dining on the patio at Los Companos one evening was horrible, because it was plagued by flying insects and nothing could be done to prevent flies from crawling all over our food. Have they thought about putting up a few bug zappers in the seating area?! And then, to cap it all, on our last morning there was a loud knock on the door at about 8.30am, immediately followed by the noise of a key in the lock, despite the fact that we'd put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door! When I answered it there were two housekeepers outside, one of whom said 'Err, sorry, we thought you'd checked out'. We hadn't, and they should have checked before trying to march straight into a room with a do not disturb sign on it. My wife was getting dressed at the time and was quite shocked. All in all this place has a great ambience, but the standard of service fell way below what I would expect at $200 a night.

Room Tip: Not on the third floor with doors that open out facing the pool. Someone from engineering admitted...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedbugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Mission Inn offers a great view into early California. It is breathtakingly beautiful. The grounds are fabulous. I enjoy seeing the birds when I first get there. The aroma from the spa is great. If you enjoy a very nice Sunday Brunch this is the place. The food and service are wonderful. We have both stayed there and just had lunches and dinner. We are never dissapointed. While Riverside may not be a "destination place" for most people, it is worth a stop if you are in the area. There are some cute shops and an antique mall. If you can make it for Christmas time for the Festival Of Lights then it is well worth the trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. Look into the packages they offer
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed for a week for a conference and had a wonderful time! Exceptional location, lots of history, beautiful architecture! Room was excellent, comfortable, quiet, great housekeeping. Staff is very attentive. Meals were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This place is steeped in History, elegant architecture and beautiful grounds. The courtyards and gardens are very impressive, and you can see why the Inn has been used in many movies. When you are in the interior courtyards you would think you were in a fancy place in Spain.
My room was fine, with even a small nook with a window off the room. Old, but that's what to expect in this place. Nothing wrong with older and historic.
As we were having business meetings there, the service was great, and we ate outside for every meal. The food was plentiful and very good.
There isn't a lot to do at night in Riverside, but there are a couple of streets within a 4 or 5 minute walk with bars and restaurants that seem to be very popular with younger people.
We did find a golf course about 20 minutes away in the mountains which was a great value.
Outside of the historic Inn, there isn't much to do in Riverside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The thought of Riverside doesn't typically conjure up thoughts of luxury, history, and/or excellent food, but The Mission Inn is the exception. The history, architecture and nostalgia are really the high points of the hotel, and the rooms and spa are great as well. I also have to say that for the most part, the service was excellent. We enjoyed the spa (great massage from Kristen), the pool, poolside food and drink service (the kobe sliders are excellent), Duane's for a nice adult dinner, and then Sunday brunch at the Mission Restaurant. Because of the Family Fun package we enjoyed, we also were treated to 6 Casey's Cupcakes (winner of Cupcake Wars a few years ago) of our choice (after a bit of a hassle with the front desk check-in person who wasn't up to speed on the package items.) But all in all we felt the service was excellent and, for the price, all of the amenities are unbeatable. You feel like you've had a mini-trip to Europe. Anytime you can stay in an historic inn, with great pool, spa, food and pay $200 or less a night for a room - I perceive this as a good deal. The rooms all have their nuances, so ask for a special room with fun architecture - they will aim to please if they can. Also, make sure you enjoy the great eucalyptus steam showers in the spa - you get free use of this as an overnight guest of the inn. Yes, as other reviewers have stated, the pool area fills up early and it is popular in the summer! But you can't really blame people, as the atmosphere at the pool is great - great poolside service, great food at reasonable prices on the pool menu, and great drinks. We stayed over the 4th of July weekend and they had a special area set up for bartenders and grilling, so it worked out great. The sunday buffet in the Mission Restaurant isn't quite up to its old standards of beautiful displays and service, so given the cost, I would pass on that if anything.

Room Tip: Pay the extra cost to enjoy one of the Mission Rooms on the 4th floor - or a 3rd floor room. You ca...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.9 mi away
Dynasty Suites Hotel
Dynasty Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Riverside
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: £131 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing