We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at Mission Inn this month as part of a motorcycle tour. The premises are outstanding and harken back to the days of "grand hotels". Fabulous bars and restaurants and beautifully appointed rooms. The service was also first class. A must stay hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koukee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    387
    115
    77
    86
See reviews for
369
566
64
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is one of the rare places which totally lives up to the hype! The beauty of the architecture is amazing, full of charm and stories of historic people who stayed at the hotel. All of the food was fabulous too! Loved the spa.

This place is a historical structure beautifully maintained. Don't stay anyplace else!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cablecity87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Simply put, the Mission Inn is charming, even enchanting. No, I wouldn't go during the much-ballyhooed Festival of Lights, but I'd go any other time. Yes, it has it quirks and faults, but they are so far overwhelmed by the sheer, fabulous, extraordinary loveliness and amazing details of this unique property. No, everything is not polished down to perfection, but that's part of the charm. History is like that. The Inn is amazing. Every corner has something delightful in store. The air smells good. The landscaping, lighting and little touches and details everywhere are delightful. We were on the 3rd floor, which by all account does not have the gaga factor of the 4th, but was worth the small upgrade from more modest rooms below. The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable with high-end linens -- with the same going for towels, robes and bath products. Our view was onto the gorgeous pool (towering palms and cascading flowers!) on one side and cityscape the other, but I would honestly stay a dozen times just to experience different rooms and all the different corners of the Inn.

I will caution that the location is both an asset and a liability because it IS loud at night. Street noise, trains, people partying . . . if you're a light sleeper bring earplugs and enjoy everything else because it is what it is.

The Inn is also not entirely friendly to those with disabilities. I'm sure they have rooms for those with mobility issues, but it is a blast to wander the balconies and twisty little staircases, and it would be difficult to do so if getting around is a problem for you. But if I could enjoy just a corner of the place I would.

Just go. Enjoy it. The service might be a little spotty. No one ever came by to offer us a drink at the pool during the two hours we were there. We never got turn-down service despite the fact we were out at least three hours during the evening. Our room smelled a little musty. The bell service was slow. The carpet was a bit worn in places. The tub area was tiny. They charged for wifi, a pet peeve of mine. Parking rates are steep. And I still didn't care a bit. This is a must see, must stay hotel if you're in the area.

Room Tip: Upper floor have an advantage, but the rooms are almost secondary to the overall experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43reds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Mission Inn is a beautiful hotel with historical value. We stayed in one of the roof top suites and it was incredible. Be sure to walk and explore the entire hotel and grounds. Dining there was also a treat. Certainly worth a stay!

Room Tip: The Roof top Rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livegooddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at the Mission Inn hotel in late January after having friends recommend it for lunch. It was so cool and spectacular I decided to spend the night!

The hotel itself has a fascinating history and such unique architecture that I strongly recommend doing the tour of the hotel through the nearby museum. I had the docent to myself that day (it WAS a Wednesday) but was able to see parts of the hotel to which others rarely have access, including the chapel. The common areas are beautiful and well maintained. I enjoyed hours by the pool which was large and filled with salt water vs. chlorine.

Check in was quick and friendly. The front desk staff gave a quick overview of the hotel and its services. I stayed in one of the standard deluxe rooms which was very comfortable - great bed, terrific amenities and nice furnishings. However if you really want to experience the hotel at its best, I think it's worth it to spend a bit more money and upgrade to one of the hotel's Glenwood or Mission rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor which are more reflective of the hotel's uniqueness.

I also availed myself of the spa, which wasn't busy since it was a weekday. The spa treatment I received was one of the best I have experienced in a long time. The spa itself is very comfortable and quiet with large resting rooms that have magazines, water and fresh and dried fruit. After your spa treatment you can choose between a refreshing fruit juice or champagne and chocolate. The treatment rooms are spacious and have wonderful hydraulic beds that make getting on and off extremely easy. My therapist was knowlegdeable and responsive to my requests for changes in pressure when needed. The spa staff was incredibly friendly and professional.

The restaurants have nice variety from a very upscale steak-focused dining room, to the beautiful outdoor courtyard restaurant of the Mission Inn Restaurant to the more casual La Campana's mexican venue which had terrific margaritas! There is also an additional Italian restaurant as well as Casey's cupcakes which are definitely worth the calorie splurge. Breakfast at the Mission Inn restaurant was included in my rate and the menu choices were varied and the eggs benedict with crab and avocado was delicious.

This is a perfect place to head with a loved one for a romantic weekend (although I would suggest trying to sneak in a week-day getaway when everything is a little less busy!), a spa day with friends or just lunch outside in one of the restaurants. Everything was top notch! I don't often say this when I review properties, but I'm going to make a real effort to return!

Room Tip: If you are willing to spend a bit more money the mission rooms on the 4th floor are very unique and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Over the Christmas Holiday my wife and I stayed at the Mission Inn. It was very packed, almost overwhelmed with crowds. I think it was a Wednesday night which might have been the saving grace.
However, almost every interaction we had with staff was superlative.
The carolers at various spots in the hotel and around the grounds were so uplifting, the lights and the look on the childrens faces really put us in the spirit.

Room Tip: Courtyard 3 rd floor magnificent view but noise from holiday party was pretty intense but in no way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went during the Festival of Lights. I must say it was pretty well lit up! There were a few vendors outside when it got dark, including some live reindeer! So who knew they were the size of goats, not cows. We had afternoon tea. It was very pleasant though seating inside was a bit noisy. Seating outside would have had more ambiance but we didn't want to get cold. The service was excellent. We also went on the tour and thought it was well worth the time and money. All in all we had a GREAT day. I have to recommend, if you are at all into antiques and shopping: Mrs. TiggyWinkles on the pedestrian mall next to the Mission Inn, and the huge two or 3 story antique mall across the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing