We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to the Past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Took the family for just one night to stay in this beautiful historical hotel.It has one of the largest swimming pools that our grand kids loved.Everything is walking distance from the hotel ,so getting the car out is unnecessary.Rates are inexpensive for what you get .All rooms seem to have a great view of other historical parts of the property.The greeting from the parrots in the lobby doorway was a great photo opp.Staff were genuinely interested in talking to you.As we originally were born in the United Kingdom before moving to the USA this reminded us of a Castle you would see in Scotland etc.We would stay there again.

Room Tip: midweek rates seem very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PALMSPRINGSCOUPLE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I took a girls trip with my 8 year old daughter and we stayed at the beautiful Mission Inn. It was amazing and beautiful. The old world charm transported us to another world. The hotel really made my daughter feel like a princess. The outdoor patio was an lovely setting for dinner. We had delicious cupcakes at Casey's. We relaxed in the wonderful hot tub and the rooms were had lush robes. There are some charming antique stores within walking distance. I would recommend the Mission Inn for a great relaxing weekend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JK1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After travelling around Europe last year (England, France, Switzerland, Italy), I couldn't help but think that California's architecture was so boring. All the buildings are modern and don't have much historic culture as Europe's.

However, once you are at The Mission Inn, it's like it's transported you someplace else. It's actually considered the largest Mission Revival Style Building in the U.S.A.! So we are really fortunately it happens to be right here in Southern California.

The hotel, previously called the Glenwood Hotel was built in 1876 and in 1902 was renamed The Mission Inn. The style of the building is influenced by various periods and styles. As more additions were added, the result is a complicated and intricately built structure. They offer a 75 minute walking tour for $13.00.

There's a parking structure located on the northwest corner of Orange and 6th St. or you can do valet parking and drop your car off at the "U" shaped driveway in front of the hotel.

I have never stayed here, but the rooms average from $109(Deluxe)-$849(Superior Presidential Suite)/night and they offer various packages like "Experience History Under the Stars", "Girlfriends Retreat", and "Poolside in Riverside".

There are also various restaurants you can eat at, like Mission Inn Restaurant (Open air patio), Duane's Prime Steaks & Seafood, Las Campanas (Mexican), Bella Trattoria (Italian) and you can get drinks at 54 Degrees at Duane's or at the Presidential Lounge. Casey's Cupcakes is also located at the Mission Inn and you can access it from the west side of the building.

You can also find Kelly's Spa and Kelly's Boutique.

Other events at The Mission Inn are corporate meetings/events, weddings, and The Festival of Lights during Christmas time.

Both The Mission Inn Restaurant and Duane's offer Sunday Brunch from 9:30AM-2:00PM. (Adults $42 and Children $20)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When I was in school in Riverside 43 years ago, the Mission Inn was a blight on the downtown. It was obvious that it was once a great hotel, but there was even talk about tearing it down and redeveloping the area. My wife and I returned for the first time and were delighted to see one of the most sympathetic restorations we have experienced. Somehow the new owners have managed keep all the Craftsman and Deco charm consistent with the period it was constructed, while updating it with AC, WiFi and all the other mod cons. It is now a truly destination resort. While the Inn itself has several very good restaurants offering variety, the Inn is surrounded by several other establishments for almost every taste. There is a sublime pedestrian mall behind the hotel which greatly lessens your need to take your car out of the parking lot. I highly recommend the Mission Inn as a great getaway.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the pool. It can get noisy when children are splashing around. The rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Loved the hotel and the architecture! The room was large and had all amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the king had five pillows which made it great for reading in bed. Nice size flat screen TV. Parking could have been better. We couldn't find the hotel parking, so we parked in a private lot. We have heard that the Christmas decorations are fabulous. They start decorating in October. We might try to go in the winter to see them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiltingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Mission Inn in Riverside, CA, is immortalized in the Eagles' 'Hotel California' - yep, this was the hotel Don Henley was staying in when he wrote that song. Not a lot of people know that, as Michael Caine would say. Ten US presidents have stayed here, alongside Queen Elizabeth II of England, King Juan Carlos I of Spain, Albert Einstein, Anne Rice, Truman Capote, Bette Davis, Armistead Maupin and a long list of other gliterati and literati. Two US presidents were even married here (Ronald Reagan's second marriage was technically 'blessed' here, but it amounts to the same thing).

It was conceived as a mock mission at a time (the turn of the 20th century) when the 21 Franciscan missions of Alta California lay in ruins. Its architectural styles include Franciscan Mission / Spanish adobe, Baroque, Venetian, Parisian and Hawaiian Gothic (yes, it has styles of architecture you may never even have heard of). It has the oldest dated bell (thirteenth century) in the world and seven original Tiffany windows designed and made by Louis Comfort Tiffany personally. In the wedding chapel, there is an extraordinary relief, set into the ceiling, of God holding Jesus during his crucifixion, which I would guess is unique in Christian art history.

The place, in a word, is stunning. I have never been tempted to take photographs of a hotel in my life, but everyone was firing off reams of shots here. For instance, the 4th floor alone has an author's walk, a rotunda, fountains, statues and bell towers.

The staff was faultless. Two went way beyond the call of duty. There are two resident parrots, called Napoleon and Josephine, and an extremely drunken, obnoxious and persistent guest was demanding to hold Napoleon, who wash't having anything of it. Roy, from Engineering, his keeper, patiently explained for half an hour, at least, that Napoleon wasn't choosing to hop onto Ms. Pushy's arm, protecting the bird, while according this pest of a guest more respect than she remotely deserved. He could have trained Job himself in patience. I later learned from several other staff that they adored Roy, and no wonder.

Another member of staff, Patrick, in Security, who had just been nominated Employee of the Month, took us on an extensive tour of the lesser known areas of the hotel - the catacombs, the chapel, the wedding chapel etc.. His love for the place was palpable, as was his knowledge of its history.

This hotel is a gem. In fact, I would say that it is probably one of those ten places you should visit before you die.

We ate twice there and the food was excellent. Indeed, many people were visiting the hotel merely to eat there - how many hotels in the world can boast that?

The room was atmospheric, spacious and immaculate. We asked for a fridge rather than a mini bar, and it arrived in about two minutes.

The only negatives I can dredge up are that some of the guests were a bit trashy (although they noticeably smartened up on the Sunday), and that the 'champagne', during the otherwise excellent and copious champagne brunch, was Californian. I don't know why Californian winemakers cannot make sparkling wine, but they really have to admit that they can't, even when those winemakers are Moet Chandon or Piper-Hiedsick. Champagne really has to be from Champagne in France, or failing that, a Spanish Cava, but both of these reservations are trivial compared with the magnificence of the hotel itself. I have seen a few negative reviews, and all I can say is, "Don't believe them." Really, don't deprive yourself of the experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What can I say? A Mission, a palace, European, best staff, most beautiful hotel I've ever seen, and that includes Europe. Unique, honestly this magic old place transcends descriptions, or superlatives for that matter, you have to see it to believe it and once you do it will rank as one of the finest trips of your life, and again that includes overseas travel or even my own peerless San Francisco. Another surprise is Riverside itself, so charming.

Room Tip: Uhm...it's so beautiful and every room is magnificent, so kind of hard to make a pick there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
6.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Spa Moreno Valley
Ayres Hotel & Spa Moreno Valley
#1 of 9 in Moreno Valley
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: £125 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing