We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Santa Cruz Inn(Riverside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skylark Motel(Riverside)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,719)
Filter reviews
1,719 results
Traveller rating
963
426
147
90
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
963
426
147
90
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfestival of lightspresidential loungehistoric hotellas campanascupcakesthe mexican restaurantnooks and cranniesholiday seasonold world charmmillion lightsevery cornerone of a kindbucket listbeautiful architecturevalet parkingwedding receptionthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,079 - 1,084 of 1,719 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Took the family for just one night to stay in this beautiful historical hotel.It has one of the largest swimming pools that our grand kids loved.Everything is walking distance from the hotel ,so getting the car out is unnecessary.Rates are inexpensive for what you get .All rooms seem to have a great view of other historical parts of the property.The greeting from the parrots in the lobby doorway was a great photo opp.Staff were genuinely interested in talking to you.As we originally were born in the United Kingdom before moving to the USA this reminded us of a Castle you would see in Scotland etc.We would stay there again.

Room Tip: midweek rates seem very good value.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PALMSPRINGSCOUPLE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I took a girls trip with my 8 year old daughter and we stayed at the beautiful Mission Inn. It was amazing and beautiful. The old world charm transported us to another world. The hotel really made my daughter feel like a princess. The outdoor patio was an lovely setting for dinner. We had delicious cupcakes at Casey's. We relaxed in the wonderful hot tub and the rooms were had lush robes. There are some charming antique stores within walking distance. I would recommend the Mission Inn for a great relaxing weekend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JK1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After travelling around Europe last year (England, France, Switzerland, Italy), I couldn't help but think that California's architecture was so boring. All the buildings are modern and don't have much historic culture as Europe's.

However, once you are at The Mission Inn, it's like it's transported you someplace else. It's actually considered the largest Mission Revival Style Building in the U.S.A.! So we are really fortunately it happens to be right here in Southern California.

The hotel, previously called the Glenwood Hotel was built in 1876 and in 1902 was renamed The Mission Inn. The style of the building is influenced by various periods and styles. As more additions were added, the result is a complicated and intricately built structure. They offer a 75 minute walking tour for $13.00.

There's a parking structure located on the northwest corner of Orange and 6th St. or you can do valet parking and drop your car off at the "U" shaped driveway in front of the hotel.

I have never stayed here, but the rooms average from $109(Deluxe)-$849(Superior Presidential Suite)/night and they offer various packages like "Experience History Under the Stars", "Girlfriends Retreat", and "Poolside in Riverside".

There are also various restaurants you can eat at, like Mission Inn Restaurant (Open air patio), Duane's Prime Steaks & Seafood, Las Campanas (Mexican), Bella Trattoria (Italian) and you can get drinks at 54 Degrees at Duane's or at the Presidential Lounge. Casey's Cupcakes is also located at the Mission Inn and you can access it from the west side of the building.

You can also find Kelly's Spa and Kelly's Boutique.

Other events at The Mission Inn are corporate meetings/events, weddings, and The Festival of Lights during Christmas time.

Both The Mission Inn Restaurant and Duane's offer Sunday Brunch from 9:30AM-2:00PM. (Adults $42 and Children $20)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When I was in school in Riverside 43 years ago, the Mission Inn was a blight on the downtown. It was obvious that it was once a great hotel, but there was even talk about tearing it down and redeveloping the area. My wife and I returned for the first time and were delighted to see one of the most sympathetic restorations we have experienced. Somehow the new owners have managed keep all the Craftsman and Deco charm consistent with the period it was constructed, while updating it with AC, WiFi and all the other mod cons. It is now a truly destination resort. While the Inn itself has several very good restaurants offering variety, the Inn is surrounded by several other establishments for almost every taste. There is a sublime pedestrian mall behind the hotel which greatly lessens your need to take your car out of the parking lot. I highly recommend the Mission Inn as a great getaway.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the pool. It can get noisy when children are splashing around. The rooms overlooking the chapel are very special.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Loved the hotel and the architecture! The room was large and had all amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the king had five pillows which made it great for reading in bed. Nice size flat screen TV. Parking could have been better. We couldn't find the hotel parking, so we parked in a private lot. We have heard that the Christmas decorations are fabulous. They start decorating in October. We might try to go in the winter to see them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiltingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews