We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GRANDE DAME OF SOCAL HOTELS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

As has become our tradition, we celebrated our 46th anniversary by a weekend stay at the Mission Inn. This time we stayed in one of the fourth floor rooms adjacent to the chapel courtyard and the Asian courtyard. The room had vaulted ceilings in the bedroom, but was a mite smallish in the bathroom and closet. Part of that was attributable to lowering the ceiling to accommodate the HVAC system in the ceiling. The A/C works fine, perhaps too fine and a diverter pointing the airflow higher in the room would be a good idea, since a freeze-out can occur if you're in the wrong spot. Spent Saturday at the pool, which it's always a good idea to get to early in the day in order to obtain a good spot in the shade of the south side, which we did right after breakfast. Had dinner at the Inn on Saturday and was stuffed to the gills, with the jumbo shrimp and scallop entrees! Sunday was the superb brunch which needs to be consumed over a several hour period in order to enjoy the sumptuous feast. All meals were in the Spanish Court, which is our favorite dining spot at the Inn. The clock in the court is still under repair, but I've been assured by the manager it will be in working order again by our next visit. The staff couldn't be nicer and bend over backwards to please you. As someone else commented on, the night time noise is a problem despite the midnight curfew. Both nights we heard what sounded like a rock concert going on nearby, perhaps in the esplanade on the Inn's west side. Although ear plugs addressed the problem, something needs to be done with the hotel and city to address this issue.

Room Tip: We've stayed at various locations in the Inn over the years and guests should experiment for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission I, Manager at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Stan W,

We are very happy to hear that the Mission Inn has become a tradition for you. We would like to thank you for your continued patronage and hope to have you back for many more years to come!

Sincerely,

Alex del Rosario
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We are current guests (leaving as soon as we can get out of here) Stay away from this hotel. After getting moved around from room to room because of noise problems, we staggered into breakfast. It took the better part of 45 minutes for the kitchen to cook two eggs. A disaster all-around. Wait for the online apology from the manager - just before the next victims arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank FSM9128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission I, Manager at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear FSM9128, We hope this message finds you well. I do apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We would like to contact you to gain more insight on the items you had mentioned. Please do not hesitate to contact me at the email address provided below. Warmest regards, Alex del Rosario, Director of Rooms adelrosario@missioninn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We just returned from a trip to California. When we were in town last year, we "stumbled" upon the Mission Inn (we were staying in the Hyatt). Hotel is so beautiful, it takes your breath away. Our room faced the pool, and had a private balcony. I paid for a package ($210), that included the poolside room, free parking ($15 per night), two Casey's cupcakes ($7), and a $25 voucher to use poolside. We chose margarita's, but beware - they're $10 each, and come in a small glass. The tile floors, room decorations, and everything related to this hotel is opulent. Pool is away from the rooms (you just get the view), so you don't have to worry about the noise. The spa is expensive ($65 for a pedicure), so we decided to skip them (even though we were splurging). Amazing to think that we've stayed where former President's have stayed, as well as MANY celebrity figures. It's awesome. If you're in Riverside, you should also visit the National Cemetery (about 15 minutes away). Sounds morbid, but it's beautiful, and we feel it's always necessary for us to honor veterans.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room. The pool is far enough away that you won't get any noise, just able to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NanaFradette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission I, Manager at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear NanaFradette,

Thank you for the kind words and we are very happy that you were able to enjoy our facilities and hotel package. We look forward to having you as our guest again next year!

Sincerely,

Alex del Rosario
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I proposed to my wife here at the Mission Inn. A very beautiful and romantic place to walk around and enjoy each others company. Loved the rooms and felt comfortable during my stay. They have amazing restaurants in the Mission Inn that is a must to try. Check in and out was painless and so was the valet parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I travel for business and normally don't get to stay at hotel/spa type hotel, but what a complete pleasure. I was on my own so didn't partake in the fabulous looking restaurants but did grab a bite at the President's Lounge Bar. Excellent pork sliders. Drinks were pricey, but very good. Room was great and really felt like you were staying in a unique room. Definitely a place I would like to stay at again. I found an internet deal on the hotel's website for $110 a night - a definite bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were there for a 3 night stay and the only drawbacks that I can comment on are the additional parking and wifi costs. However, this place (as well as the magnificently manicured grounds) is so beautiful that the additional cost is easily afforded as the room costs are well below fair market price.

Our room was spacious and clean....our sheets were very clean and luxurious.

Speaking for the men here, our toilet had enough power to flush a loaf of bread.....(just the thing I look for in a relationship with a bowl) so anything you want to go down, stays down. Yeah.....I wrote that....and meant it too. I'm tired of all those joints with the "low flow" toilets.....they don't work worth a s#*t......

We'll definitely be staying here again....

Room Tip: We chose a suite overlooking the courtyard......you can enjoy your morning coffee on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vernon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

i loved this hotel and spa. gorgeous. gorgeous.

i am a self professed hotel snob so it takes a lot to get such a review.

i attended a birthday weekend here and loved it. quaint hotel and the little town is adorable, not far from Ontario, CA airport.

very romantic. would be great for a wedding as well.

definitely go!!

Room Tip: not sure there is a bad room in the place! well appointed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roxieroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: £125 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing