We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Mission Inn, not the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved the Mission Inn, not the crowds”
Reviewed 18 December 2008

We just returned from a stay at the Mission Inn and mostly loved it. We went for the Festival of Lights, which is as magnificent as it sounds, over 3.5 million lights covering the property. We also learned the best time to take Christmas light photos is at dusk, and for registered guests, use your room key to enter the pool area to get excellent pictures of the front of the property without any crowds around.

Back to the Mission Inn: it's a wonderful historical property that will remind you of a Spanish/Moorish palace, the Alhambra meets modern high desert California. We stayed in a Deluxe king and the bathroom was clean but small, service was outstanding and the amenities were as well appointed as any mid-upper end hotel. The property is older, so expect some nuances and older fixtures. From the valet onwards, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (the front desk check-in clerk could have been more welcoming) and we especially loved the "bouncers" at the stairs and the elevators after 5pm, restricting the hotel's access to registered guests only. The lobby is open to everyone at all times.

A huge downside was the crowd - in the lobby, in the restaurants, in the bar - but that was to be expected with the lights. From around 4pm - 8pm, the lobby was so crowded you could barely move, which was a huge nuisance. There was only one bar in the hotel which was completely overrun with tourists, definitely not enough seating to handle the holiday crowd, and a very limited bar food menu. We never got into any of the walk-in restaurants for dinner, the wait was over two hours all night long, and had to resort to room service, which was actually good. It would have been nice if the hotel prioritized dinner seating for guests. We did eat in the Inn's main restaurant for breakfast, which was very good - try the waffles. Later at night and in the mornings, it was very pleasant with just guests milling about.

We booked a package that included valet parking, but the valet gets busy and it would have been easy enough to park in the hotel's lot at the back. There is a back entryway into the lobby, just across the street from the parking lot.

All in all, this is a must-do at least once in life during the holidays, but we would recommend it for one night as it's simply too crowded to really enjoy the hotel. The best time was morning, it was so quiet and serene and you could still enjoy the interior decorations lit up all day long.

  • Liked — Beautiful historic property, modern amenities
  • Disliked — Crowds, hard to get into bar, restaurants. Registered guests should get some prioritization.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpencerLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    391
    116
    77
    86
See reviews for
370
569
65
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Mission in in Riverside, This is a fantastic historic hotel. We loved the setting, and we went to the lounge for a few drinks and it was lively and some locals. I would stay here again however not at the normal rate. I would say my complaint about Riverside was the freeways are horrible.
The hotel was relaxing place to come home to after visiting with family which can be quite stressful plus, I don't like staying with family, and having to worry about restrooms, sleeping arrangements, etc.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodGirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

We had such a nice time at the Mission Inn. Our room was nice although it was on the street side. We came for the festival of lights and get us in the Christmas spirit! The property is just beautiful at night with all the christmas decorations. The only restaurant we ate at on the property was Bella Trattoria. Good food- good service . We prefer to eat at some of the local neighborhood Mexican restaurants for the authentic food. Take time to walk the different floors of the hotel property because they are all different and all pretty spectacular views. The only negative on our stay was the carpet in our room was pretty dirty and for a hotel of this calibur, that is pretty unusual.

  • Liked — Historic
  • Disliked — unclean carpet in room- stains
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasVegas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We decided to stay at the Mision Inn with a small group of friends, instead of staying at a hotel in Corona and going to the Glen Ivy Spa. We've got the "Get out of town" package for three rooms. Enjoyed the hot tub late evening. Had Sunday brunch, and in room breakfast for some of us (used the $75 credit that came with the package) We spent most of our Sunday by the nicely landscaped pool(most of the time just us) and a couple of our friends also got a massage at Kelly's Spa. We had a great time. I liked the bells, but the train sounds can be disturbing.

  • Liked — charm, history
  • Disliked — train noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 80daysaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Though we live in Riverside, we decided to stay at the Mission Inn for one night as a special treat during a conference. The Inn and grounds are absolutely beautiful; you feel as if you are stepping back in time. The photographs of various celebrities who have stayed there are also quite fascinating. It's fun just to explore the place. Our room, however, was just average. There was a comfortable king bed and some uncomfortable antique-style chairs, a walk-in closet with terry robes, and a small bathroom with a powerful shower. The room was clean but had a slightly musty odor. We had a pleasant dinner at the outdoor Mexican restaurant and a tasty breakfast in the Mission Inn Restaurant, though the morning service was very slow. We had a conference rate of $120 for our room, which was reasonable. I certainly would not pay $200+ for a room here.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I am a resident of Riverside, CA but I have made several trips to the Mission Inn when I have been in the mood to pamper myself. It is an ideal location for weddings and romantic getaways. It is a historic property that has been renovated into a high end resort. The rooms are richly appointed and the restaurants are fabulous. I take friends to dinner there often. I especially enjoyed the swimming pool that is kept immaculately clean. I have been to Kelly's spa a couple of times for massage, but the prices are above the norm. Although the cost of lodging and dining at the Mission Inn are expensive, it is worth the price if you are celebrating a special occasion.

  • Liked — Luxurious atmosphere
  • Disliked — High prices
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceminister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mission Inn for one night 8/9/08 as an Anniversary treat. The room was very tastefully decorated with wonderful ambiance. Our room overlooked the beautiful pool and opened to common walkway that was furnished with Mission Style wooden chairs. When we scheduled the room we asked for a quiet area. Our problem occurred during the middle of the night with many footsteps running (possibly children) down the corridor, doors slamming, loud voices, and what possibly sounded like suitcases rolling. It went on for about 3 hours from 1AM to 4AM. We should have called security but we were concerned about our safety as a result of angry neighbors. That was not the only problem. The pillows were lumpy, puffy and uncomfortable, the bed was lumpy, and there was a large stain on the mattress cover that could be seen through the sheets. I opened a can of carmelized popcorn from the wet bar and found it to be really stale (which I told the check out clerk and it was taken off our bill) , and the room was missing the channel changer for it's beautiful LG flat screen TV. I called the front desk about the channel changer and was told it would be sent up but it never arrived. We had pre-ordered room service breakfast for the next morning which arrived right on time and was very good. Of course we had to call down for the silverware and napkins which were left off the tray. They also arrived in a timely fashion.
We ate at Duane's and I will review that in a separate piece. All in all my husband and I enjoyed each other, the Presidential bar makes great martini's and the decor is outstanding. But the Hotel needs to upgrade service and facilities to be considered first class.

Helpful?
8 Thank dancetictoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing