We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Beautiful!! Lots of History, flowers and Architectural Styles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!! Lots of History, flowers and Architectural Styles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

The Mission Inn is such a beautiful place. I took so many pictures here as everything is just perfect. The building itself is gorgeous, made of up of several unique architectural styles. The courtyards and flowers are amazing and remind me of being in Spain. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. The Spa was one of the best spas I have been too and the staff was extremely professional. I just loved staying here, roaming the grounds and smelling the flowers. The hotel is as large as one city block so it is great to walk around the grounds, rooftops and patios and it particulary beautiful at night when the courtyards are lit up. I would highly recommend this hotel for people that like a little bit of Europe in the US, lots of history and relaxation! I would also like to say that this is a perfect place to stop for the night if you are leaving the Long Beach area and on your way to Palm Springs. This is the half way point and was worth the stay!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swiftlysaid38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    387
    115
    77
    86
See reviews for
369
566
64
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

I was surprised to read a negative review of the Mission Inn. We went in December for the Festival of Lights and loved it! After going, I couldn't believe that I had never been there having lived in S. Ca for >20 years. I had never heard of the Mission Inn until last year when I saw an episode of Samantha Brown on the travel channel doing an episode on it. The Mission Inn is on the National Register of Historic places. Parts of the hotel were built over 100 years ago and the original owner kept adding wings and it is a most unusual place. In a way it reminded me of the Hotel Del (Coronado) in San Diego or the Peabody in Memphis. Old and perhaps musty in places but that's to expect in an old hotel. What we also got, was an elegant room, tastefully decorated, comfy bedding, turn down service, and the most unusual hotel buildings I've ever seen. We walked all over the different wings and it's a real hodge podge of architectural styles which we found delightful. It's not a boring chain hotel and it's not all new and perfect but it certainly is a beautiful place- a historic Grande Dame of hotels. I've recommended it to lots of friends. The only down side was that it was very crowded during Xmas but we did appreciate the security person stationed at the stairs to keep the masses from wandering all over the hotel. The lobby was a crush of people but so is the Hotel Del at Christmas. We received a $75 gift certificate as part of our package but we were unable to use at any of the restaurants because we hadn't known to book ahead- so if you want to eat here, make sure you make reservations well ahead of time during holidays. On the bright side, since we weren't able to eat at the hotel, we had to go elsewhere. The concierge recommended Mario's Place across the street and we went and had a absolutely fabulous dinner there-(highly recommend). We stayed only for 1 night which was enough for us to look around the hotel and go out to eat. There is a fun antique mall also across the street where you can find some interesting things. We didn't do much else and I don't know if there is much else to do but we had fun and I wouldn't mind going back again at all.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mustluvdogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Don't go there. The service is terrible! You will be charged for the service you have never used. You will not get receipt but your credit card will be charged.

Read your credit card statement very carefully!

When you ask for a refund, things become so complicated.

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank 5yu7sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

Don't be confused- this is not a luxury property. Expensive restaurants, fancy lights, expensive room rates... but fairly cruddy rooms.
My room was not renovated since the mid 1980s, and the hallways and common areas are dated as well- and not in the "authentic Spanish Mission" way.
This is also the first US hotel of this size I've stayed at in the past 5 years that did not offer wireless internet in the individual rooms - I dont mean for free, but at all. I paid $9.99 per day for wired internet in the room.
The gym smelled terribly, and you had to walk through a service entrance to get to it; outdated cardio equipment and weight resistance machines were on top of each other, with no space to stretch.
No real service, as no one spoke to me in the 5 days I was there except in checking in and out.
The room was quite large though, and apparently some rooms are renovated.
For the amount of money this hotel charges though, it should have some of the basic amenities of a moderate hotel. Instead, it simply pushes its overpriced restaurants and spa- which are clearly the moneymakers. A Marriott would have been a nicer room.

  • Liked — Central location in downtown riverside
  • Disliked — Room furnishings dated, musty
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

We enjoyed a short get-away at the Mission Inn hotel and spa. I probably would not have considered staying here but had heard wonderful reviews about the hotel especially for the holiday season and since it was a Xmas gift from a business associate we graciously accepted and enjoyed the wonderful surprise.
The beautiful hotel was a sight to see during the holidays so beautifully decorated with lights and whimsical elves, singing carolers, and animated creatures very pretty. It was very crowded but the adjoining street is closed to traffic. There was an ice skating rink that many were enjoying and there are vendors selling warm treats to the visiting crowd.
Stepping into the hotel felt like stepping back in time a most luxurious one! The portraits of the presidents on the wall who have stayed here give testaments to the prestige of this hotel. The hotel is very large with two beautiful chapels that are popular for weddings. The hotel is a historical landmark and at least 100 years old but has been tastefully updated and the rooms have modern amenities of a new hotel.

Our room was a nice suite that was spacious and offered a living area with a large flat screen TV and a separate desk area and we also had a nice little patio with 2 chairs and small table. There was also a very large window box bolstered bench. The bathrooms looked new but yet still fit in nicely with the time period of the room. The bed was comfortable and towels and linens were top tier. Also, we did not have any spooky visitors as was stated in a previous review. I believe some people have lively imaginations especially with older structures I for one, love history and have visited many supposedly haunted places and have yet to be visited by a ghost. We were visited by a Gingerbread fairy who left cookies on our bed though. A nice holiday touch.
We had dinner at Duanes steakhouse that was superb. Pricey but worth it. Definitely a special occasion place. It is one of the 3 restaurants in the hotel. We enjoyed drinks at the Presidential Lounge a good place to enjoy the live jazz quartet and some drinks. But get there early as it gets very busy. We had breakfast at the courtyard cafe it was reasonably priced but just okay very limited menu. However, the courtyard is a must see as it is so regal and seems to put you in a Tuscan Italian village. There is also a spa that we did not get a chance to try but maybe next time!
We were pleasantly surprised by this beautiful Old World hotel The Mission Inn, we'll make it a point to visit again next Holiday season or maybe sooner!

  • Liked — Cozy, Holiday Lights
  • Disliked — Not much to do in vicinity
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tedandlisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

This review is not about the accommodation, but about the service in the main restaurant. Husband and I visited the hotel to view the Christmas lights (Tuesday 23 December) and decided to make a day of it and have lunch and a tour. We went to the main restaurant to partake of the buffet lunch at 12.30pm only to be told to come back at 1pm since no table were available - (although plenty of tables were empty). We returned at 1pm. The host looked at his watch as though we were returning far too early or far too late. He very reluctantly (or so it seemed to my husband and I) seated us. We took a look at the buffet but decide to choose a la carte. Some 10 minutes later and having been passed by by a couple of waiters, we asked how we could order. The waiter - that we assumed was the one allocated to our area - since he had just presented the bill to the table next door, told us that he had several tables to attend to and that the table across the way was next on his list. We informed him that that table had come in after us. He then informed us that he would get another waiter to attend to us while he attended the other table! Was this his way of telling us that he did not want to serve us? To cut a long story short after 20 minuted of waiting to be served anything at all we left. So disappointed. We will not be back. The tour was the only redeeming part of the day.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2008

First off, the Inn was wonderful. The grounds are amazing. Breathtakingly beautiful with bougainvillea blooming every few feet, tinkling fountains and fantastic woodwork. We received turndown service at night and fresh baked cookies. The employees were pleasant and the accommodations elegant. The Festival of Lights offered a nice surprise but the crowds carried with it felt overwhelming. It took huge amounts of time wading through people to find our elevator. Actually could not enjoy the wonderfully decorated lobby until well after children's bedtime due to all the family foot traffic . While my husband slept he was greeted by a spooky guest. He awoke to something thing tapping on the right side of his face and whispering in his ear. I was sleeping on his left side therefore unable to touch his right cheek. That scared him enough to loose some sleep. I googled "mission inn haunting" and many similar experiences came up. We stayed in Room 373 for what it's worth.

  • Liked — the fantastic buildings
  • Disliked — the crowds for the Festival of Lights
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank avonlee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing