We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a great holiday get-away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It was a great holiday get-away!”
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My family had a wonderful stay at the Mission Inn. We had a large room that was nicely decorated and a great view of the courtyard. The hotel was decorated for the holidays and looked grand. The hotel is very interesting in architecture and decor and tours are available. The front desk service was very good. It is walking distance to many restaurants and shops. We would highly recommend this hotel. Also, we got a great rate from Hotels.com for $130 for a Sunday night during the holidays.

Mission Inn Restaurant - It was it little over-priced for the average tasting food.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongBeachJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    391
    117
    77
    86
See reviews for
371
569
65
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I am in so much shock , that a hotel would acept money from anyone to stay in a room where it is imposible to sleep! We stayed in a suite rm 259, when I called down to find out what was going on they offered me earplugs and informed me it would go on till 2am! The club on the street or restaurant plays badly Djd 80s music all night, it's like being in a chzech wedding in the 80s where someones moronic uncle is Djing, but with an incredably loud system. I can't express in words quite how awful it was! TORTURE!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshcake13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at the Mission Inn right before Christmas, and took advantage of one of the Festival of Lights Packages. Our room was great, lots of character. We had a ball just exploring the property. The Inn has amazing architecture, lots of little nooks and sitting areas, and as the sun went down and the Christmas lights went on, it was incredibly beautiful. We strolled the Mission Inn Walk, there was a small ice skating rink, lots of booths with gingerbread, hot chocolate, musicians and carriages for carriage rides. Our room was quiet and overlooked the courtyard. The workout room was nice, with updated equipment and a nice flat screen placed perfectly for the treadmills and elliptical machines.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix,az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

-The hotel staff was stressed and very cold.
-100's of locals touring hotel to see lights, could barely walk in and out of elevator to get to and from room
- Reservations for Duane's were pushed and changed with out permission
- House keeping request for extra pillows, blankets took over an hour and called 3 times
- Champagne and strawberries part of package arrived 1.5 hours late and called twice
- VALLET LOST CAR KEY ON CHRISTMAS and caused my family to be 1.5 hour late to christmas family reservation dinner and we missed dinner and presents with family in Newport
- Vallet never made any kind of compensation or even tried. HORRIBLE SERVICE from Mark and Andrian
- Hotel has several charges on my account that wasnt authorized, including valet parking the day they lost our key,t hank god we had a spare, but REALLY, your going to still charge
ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE SERVICE

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank morsecodemercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Travelled to the Mission Inn as a special event for my girlfriend. The reservation was lost at the time of our arrival but staff was friendly and accommodating and the room we eventually were placed in was terrific. No complaints here.
Walking around the hotel was fun and interesting.
The one bad spot was the service at the Presidential Lounge. The food was good but delivered too slowly in my opinion for the size of the crowd and it took 40 minutes to get the check.
Parking is available across the street for $8 per day.
Overall the experience was good and would return to the Mission Inn.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utt959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

My reservation was for a Glenwood Room in the Spanish Wing. When checking in early, only a room on the pool side was available. Front Desk clerk said the room was the same. Poolside room had 2 queen beds but was small, not like photo on their website. We waited for the room in the Spanish Wing. Wasn't able to get into room until after the 3:00 check in time. This time it looked like the photo, room had a bathroom toward center of room, 2 flat screen tvs, fake fireplace, sofabed and a lot more space! Encountered 4 front desk clerks during our 2 night stay on Christmas Eve and day. 2 of 4 clerks gave satisfactory service, one misled us to believe the poolside room was the same, another one didn't know if she could cash traveler's checks, caused me to wait a long time while she waited to ask another clerk who was on the phone. We liked our room, it was clean and everything worked. Several floor boards were loose and made noise when walking in room. Room would be better if it had free refrigerator, microwave and internet. It's $15 for a fridge and $10/day for internet. Hotel doesn't have a business center where you can print from a computer. Hotel is conveniently located, decorations are beautiful, the carriages, skating rink and carolers really give a nice Christmas experience. We liked the Fitness Center. Food was good at Bella Trattoria Italian and reasonably priced. The reason for our stay was Christmas Day Brunch in the Mission Inn Restaurant. Brunch reservation was made in Sept. and they charged my card for it then too. We were seated in the Spanish Patio, it's nice and the heat lamps kept us comfortable. Excellant service by Raul and Rachel. Didn't like having to take and stand in line at front desk for a stamp everytime we went in and out of $8 self parking. They should have a better system for hotel guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkanaOhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Stayed here about dozen times & I never get tired of it. Everyone should stay here at least one time. The historic residential neighborhoods next to downtown are great for walking.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterAgriculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing