We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impossible not to like!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impossible not to like!”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed two nights at the Mission Inn, and had an AMAZING time! The service, restaurants, and rooms were outstanding. But the hotel itself is worth going out of the way for, you can devote an entire day to exploring it. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    391
    117
    77
    86
See reviews for
371
569
65
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This was terrible. The service in the Sunday brunch was great, BUT the food was terrible. They select the time you will be able to be seated even when you call in advance and book. Which was hard to do because there were not return phone calls. We had a large party that they would not accomodate until 12:30. The food for 50.00 a person once they add in the gratuity and tax was disgusting. It looked as though they wanted to get rid of left overs. They ran out of stuff, did not refill, and started deleting items and the buffet just got smaller and smaller. Would not recommend this for a special occasion.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank lovell00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I'm from out of state and have not stayed there since it was remodeled, but I'm glad I did. You definitely have to ask for a quiet room. There are social functions of all types going on and you don't want to be kept up listening to them. In our wing, the social functions ended about 7 pm so no real problem. It's a very busy hotel.
The rooms were old vintage, but they were nicely done with 32" Plasma TV, in room safes, and good bedding. The hotel is definitely a historic masterpiece. You constantly run into people not staying there, but are just sightseeing. You almost feel privileged to be staying in the history. Complaints = The parking garage is in the rear of this massive city block large building. Let patrons self park or valet park from the rear of the hotel, and take baggage in there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

After my mother held her 50th birthday party at Mission Inn, we decided it would be grand to hold our wedding there. Thinking we may need to reserve well ahead of time, we were able to make an appointment with someone to book the venue for October of 2010. During the appointment, they made us first option for our date since they said we could not put a deposit down for any date over a year away. September 2009 came around, we called 2 times before being able to come in contact with the woman we originally spoke to. She said we were still first option and no one else has put their name on for the same date. October 1st came, we left two messages and went down to the Mission Inn to give our deposit for our date. We were told that we would have to wait until the woman we first spoke to was back to the office to provide our deposit. October 3rd, I received a message stating that another party had booked our date and if any other date would be available. It upset us greatly, as we had already told our family that we were first option for that date and the woman had explained to us that we would be given 10 days from October 1st, to provide our deposit. A deposit we had tried countless times to give. However, because we liked the Mission Inn we decided that we can change our date to accommodate the hotel!!! We tried seven.... SEVEN times (that is leaving messages) with the same woman and we never received a call back. We then contacted the catering office to book a different date and every time we were forwarded to an answering machine. We then decided that maybe, their answering machine was full (of our messages no doubt), so we went down to the Mission Inn. Every time we went down, the concierge desk would explain that the people we needed to talk to in the catering department were out of the office. We did this for about two and half months. How are they out of the office for 2.5 months? We finally wrote a letter to the general manager of Mission Inn asking why we were being ignored and not gaining the service we were accustomed to as when my mother had her grand birthday party. We never received a letter back.

An associate of mine, held her wedding at the Mission Inn. She too explained that she had received poor service even after giving them her deposit. She explained that two months before her wedding, she had difficulty gaining contact from anyone in the catering department. She explained that the month of her wedding and prior she received excellent service, however she explained that if she were to do it again, she would choose a different venue.

Though the Mission Inn is a wonderful hotel with exceptional food, they truly need to fix their issues in their event catering department.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RiversideReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDORD, Manager at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologize for the experience that you encountered with our staff. This is not the experience we want any of our guests to have and we would love to follow up with you on this. Can you please email me your contact information so that I may have the appropriate manager give you a call? I look forward in speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Elsie Carbajal - Director of Rooms
ecarbajal@missioninn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I would stay at the Mission Inn again if business takes me to Riverside. Has to be the best option in the city. The Inn is really like staying in a museum, there is such history and Presidential weddings, famous honeymoons at this place it really is unique. We even saw a wedding party that I assume was getting married on a Thursday, must be a desired place for a wedding. Room was adequate, old for certain, but if you want new don't stay here if you want an experience here is your place. Food was good, lots of choices and staff was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kindhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

This was one of our best trips ever. The location is simply awesome. The Inn itself is worth a day of snooping around. We arrived about 5:30 PM and were greeted by the valet who immediately parked our vehicle and helped us into the lobby. The clerk at the front desk was awesome and checked us in quickly and politely. We then went to the lounge for our free glass of Simi chardonny and were impressed with the staff and the service...remember, this was free and the staff treated us with outstanding service. Dinner at Duanes was just as wonderful. The staff kept up a conversation with us all nite, making us feel like we were extra special guests. At breakfast the next day we got the very same treatment.

This is without a doubt the finest stay we have ever had the pleasure to enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

This was a great place for a group meeting/ convention. The staff was attentive and courteous. The meals in the hotel were all great! I would go again just for a weekend with a friend--such a neat little with quaint shops, restaurants and antiques.

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
Thank SandyC1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing