We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Educational"”

California Citrus State Historic Park
Ranked #6 of 41 things to do in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 377-acre park dedicated to the preservation of California's citrus heritage. Docent guided grove tours (Tour & Taste) start PROMPTLY at 1030, 1200, & 2pm on weekends (depending on docent availability). Not all docents give grove tours. No reservations required. Tour group size limited to 15 guests. It is advised that you call the Visitor Center to make sure tours are available on the day you plan to visit the park.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Educational"”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Far better than I had anticipated....we were greeted by a friendly German host who invited us to spend some time in the visitor centre where we watched an educational video about the history of Citrus fruits and had a peak in the little gift shop. We were about to set off and tour the park when a volunteer (Joe Hamlin) kindly offered to take us on a tour...he shared a wealth of knowledge with us about the park, it's history and facilitated tasting sessions on numerous fruits picked fresh from the tree's!!...even better - he also allowed us to take some home with us! The tours are not scheduled to a set timetable (although they are looking at doing this long term) so if you do want to have a guided tour I would advise you contact the park office firstly before visiting...takes about an hour...we were just lucky Joe was there on the day! Thanks Joe! :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlotteLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of Riverside History!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a must see when visiting Riverside. If you like the outdoors bring the kids and come walk around the place. If you come while the orange trees are in blossom Feb/March you wont smell anything better. Fruit stand on the street that sells citrus most of the year. Very nice park like setting with many orange trees. People sometimes have weddings here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RTaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I might be a little prejudice”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was a docent at this park for three years. It appeals to everyone on some level. When my child was small, he ran up and down the hill. As he got older, he took school tours of the varietal grove and learned about the different forms of citrus. Today, as a teen, he can tell you about the citrus history in Riverside County and California in general.

It's a great place in the spring when the trees are full of blossoms. It worth it just to go for the senses overload. It is a favorite place in the spring for wedding in the gazebo. The park is setup to look like a park would have in the early 1900. No play equipment but an enormous lawn space for kids to run and play.

We were there when they built the new museum. It starts with the first orange from China and runs through the heyday of the orange history in Riverside which had the largest per capita income in the United States in 1900.

We do Easter Egg hunts there and go to the summer concerts held on the lawn. Again, I might be a little prejudice but it is one of my favorite California State Parks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wordstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Citrus State Park”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

What a fantastic piece of orange grove history, beautiful walkways, unique structures, great rock landscaping. Occasionally they have bands in the park which is fantastic. Try it you'll like it alot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“California Citrus State Historic Park”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The citrus groves are beautiful to see and walk among. The museum is wonderful and full of great history and information! What a treat!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed California Citrus State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to California Citrus State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing