We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ambience, average food”
Review of Tio's Tacos

Tio's Tacos
Ranked #10 of 703 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fantastic ambience, average food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Tio's Tacos is a funky restaurant whose owner never discards anything, rather makes it into yard art. You must see it to believe it. The refried beans and rice were tasty and not greasy. However, the fish in my tacos was burned to a crisp, and they still served it! If we ever go back, we will not order fish tacos!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unique "art" couldn't make up for the food.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have visited Tio's Tacos many times over the years since I was born and raised in Riverside. I have enjoyed taking friends to see the bizarre recycled art which crowds the restaurant and grounds -- all made from cast-off items: Bicycle parts, tin cans, beer bottles, broken tile, shells, you name it. It is interesting to see how the owners, over the years, have turned what others might consider trash into bizarre sculptures and figures.

But the quirky ambiance couldn't make up for the lack-luster food. I had remembered that the food had been fresh and flavorful on previous visits. But not this time. The salsa had a strange gelatinous texture instead of the chunky freshness I would expect. My husband had the steak taco platter and I opted for the chicken taco platter. Both meats seemed to have been prepared before hand and allowed to sit.

There was something odd about the spices used. Not sure how else to describe it. The refried beans were watery, soup-like and bland. The rice was also bland. Both were cold. My husband took his back and they popped it in the microwave. There was a salad of iceberg lettuce and a tomato slice, but no dressing. We let most of our meal go uneaten. I probably won't return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelScott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Quirky dining experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Even if you don't eat here, if you're a fan of quirky & at times, bawdy folk art, spend an hour or so wandering around the grounds; something unique at every twist & turn!
You order your food, are given a number & choose where you want to sit.....the food choices run the gamut of Mexican food; we had a party of five & everyone's food was very good- mixed meat fajitas, carne adada nachos, chicken tostada, carnitas burrito & a whole fried fish. The salsa was unique, spicy & yummy....one of our party had a michelada (sp?) plus another had a peach margarita with chunks of peaches in it.
Again, if you're offended by sexually suggestive art, stay away but if you do, you're missing a unique experience....enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdenoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a unique and odd dining experience, you've found the place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

tios is one of those places you must experience when visiting Riverside. But there are a few things to keep in mind. You don't come here for an elegant dining experience, you come for a strange dining experience and for good Mexican food. There are many strange,unique and innappropriate pieces of artwork made out of trash. There is also just trash! Be sure to give yourself a good hour to take it all in. The service was great and the food was fantastic. If you were easily grossed out by anything dirty do not come here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boots279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The food is pretty good; the place is just the coolest thing ever. SO much fun! You have to go to experience it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gillda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tio's Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Tio's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing