We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bann Thai

Bann Thai
Ranked #46 of 697 Restaurants in Riverside
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

While a small facility, a converted house, Sam and Emma (the owners) have created an warm, friendly atmosphere. The staff is wonderful, attentative, and friendly. We have never had a problem. As the sign says over the counter, "enter a stranger, leave a friend." Prices right for the portions. First time I went I thought I'd leave hungry but was very surprised at how filling it was. Sam spends time with his customers when the time is right. He gets to know you and can be quite a comedian. We have tried other Thai restaurants but always go back to Sam and Bann Thai.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ktelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I've eaten here several times and have necer received anything but excellence in food flavor, service, atmosphere, or anything else. Sam, the owner, and his wife are perfect hosts and strive to make every guest feel like family before they leave. Your food will be prepared to the level of spiciness you desire. My favorite is Gra Pow, but, like I said, everything is excellent. If you've never eaten Thai food, as I hadn't, Sam will guide you to something on the menu which you are sure to love.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“MMMm dont miss it......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The restaurant was a small converted house on a busy street. If you blinked you will miss it but to miss this establishment would be a great loss because the food was incredible. The Tom Yum was some of the best we have ever had flavorful sour with some spicy kick. The Pad Thai was average and the curries were great. I have ate at many Thai Restaurants and this is now among my favorites......

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cary_c9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Where's the meat and food???!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have visited Bann Thai twice this month, as I am fond of Thai food. Although the atmosphere here is cozy, the owner skimps on proportions when it comes dishes with beaf and chicken. A typical dish is $8.95, which is a couple of dollars less than "Table for Two" (nearby Thai restaurant). But the amount of food is also less, more than a couple of dollars worth.

For example, the fried chicken wontons has <0.2 mm of chicken thickness inside the 2 in wontons. Today, I ordered the pepper-steak dish for dinner and was flabbergasted at the small amount of food on the medium-sized plate. It looked less than a cup full----much less than the cashew-chicken dish I ordered and very much less than the Pad Thai noodles I ordered last time. I politely asked to speak to the manager, who was most likely the owner. He approached me saying "what is the problem" instead of "how I can I help you." He insisted for the price in relation to other local Thai restaurants that the amount was correct. He then went to socialize with another table thereafter. He left me hungry and disappointed that he did not care about his new customer. I suppose if I were white as the people he was socializing with at the other table, he would have offered me something more. I just paid the bill and left with my mom.

Thai food should be inexpensive and healthy. I have my favorite hot spots in Manhattan. For the price here, the plate should be covered with vegetables, chicken or beef, etc. I am frustrated that I cannot find an inexpensive, pleasant, and honest Thai place in Riverside!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tearsforhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bann Thai also viewed

 

Been to Bann Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing