We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food”

Gram's Mission Barbeque Palace
Ranked #49 of 701 Restaurants in Riverside
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Food is tasty and reasonably priced. Service was a bit slow but worth the wait. The collard greens were awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pachappa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
“Hard to find & park nearby but fairly good eatin's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Gram's has served good North Carolina-style BBQ to the Downtown crowd for years. Although its not well known, Gram's provides a decent menu and authentic Southern style sides like extra-cheesy macaroni, cole slaw and peach cobbler, all served by a very friendly staff that appreciates your business. The Coke machine is tuned perfectly and a couple draft beers are available to wash it all down. There are plenty of napkins, 'cause you will need 'em.

Its off Market St near 5th and The Mission Inn Hotel but parking of any kind is often tough to find. Hint: Forget free parking around here except on Sundays. The decor is plain but clean and the bathrooms are OK. Prices are a bit high for what you get but for foot traffic and the downtown commuting crowd, its very close by. Call your order ahead to avoid long waits, especially at lunch. When I was there, Gram's tech-savvy staff was busy perfecting the means of taking orders remotely.

Bottom line: Gram's will be just fine if you don't set your expectations too high. I recommend it for decent but not memorable BBQ in the Riverside area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Spicy Barbeque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had intended eating at one of the much posher places down the main street, but they were so busy and wanted us to wait ridiculous times for a table. We followed the smell of roasting meat, spotted Gram's and decided to take a chance on it. It was pretty quiet but we chose to sit outside as it was easier to put tables together and seat all our party together.

It's a basic set up - order at the counter and wait for your food to be delivered to the table. They coped with our 4 part order and apologised in advance that we would have a short wait for our food. We didn't mind as it meant it was being cooked fresh.

We had ribs of various sorts, tips which were fabulous and a pile of various different meats, with slaw, fries, and the most amazing mac and cheese side ever tasted!

We did notice that as the place got busier (and it did get much busier just after we arrived) the staff were struggling to cope. They seemed a bit understaffed and not expecting the crowds they were attracting.

Would definitely go back - it was a great barbeque experience,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank piglit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
246 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“BBQ is King”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I been going here when in town about ever other years or so. Dore pretty ordinary but I have not had better barbeque chicken anywhere. Reminds me of a couple of the recent BBQ places I ate at in Louisiana. Talked to local store owner who couldn't stop talkin' about the pulled pork. Location between Mission Hotel and Convention Center.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ - Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Good BBQ - I like the pork ribs and pulled pork. Love the potatoe salad and grilled vegies too. Service is a little slow, and it's not at all fancy, so don't dress up.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girdie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gram's Mission Barbeque Palace also viewed

 

Been to Gram's Mission Barbeque Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing