We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Salted Pig

The Salted Pig
Ranked #10 of 701 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the salted pig. I was very much surprised - in a positive way. The style is more "plain and simple". Service was very good and the food very good. I would definitely go there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonaldII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    57
    25
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
355 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Unique & one of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for appetizers & adult beverages before checking into our hotel before visiting the Festival of Lights in Riverside. After reading prior reviews we HAD to try the bacon fat popcorn, amazing! We also tried the brussel sprouts, again, amazing.
All the beers were really good & although we didn't try any of the entrees, the people to both sides of us at the bar said their food was some of the best they had ever had....we will be back! Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank cdenoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Interesting and unusual Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very good food with interesting tastes and textures. Not a place to eat often, but it is an interesting, enjoyable and unique experience. If traveling to Riverside it is definitely worth a visit and a meal. It is very popular and often crowded. I even notice families with small children eating here which is unusual since the place is set up to appeal to a different cliental.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

While doing some filiming out near Lakeview, we stopped in Riverside to look for someplace to eat. The "Salted Pig" got our attention and we went in. Wow. I know people have a tendency to say "such and such was the BEST thing ever..." and I'm trying not to fall into that, but this was THE BEST pork ever! :-) The service was good, the staff was helpful as we were looking for their best signature menu item since we were passing through, and the food........awesome. The pork was so juicy and flavorful and it had some sort of seasoning that was so good. Here's how good it was..... I would drive the hour (plus) distance from Anaheim or Costa Mesa just to have dinner there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of the Best Places in Downtown Riverside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Visiting Riverside? Looking for late night service? Even parking fees - that usually keep us out of downtown - don't apply late into the evening.
It was "crowded," but we decided to sit at the "Chef's Bar" (not the bar-bar) and so were seated immediately.
The Chef's Bar is a long, tall, stainless-steel bar facing the kitchen. It gives you something to watch as the cooks diligently go about their business. You can mostly see them working - not what they're working on. But it's a well-run, clean, place. (Relatively little conversation among the help... no "YES CHEF!'s" here as you'd find in Gordan Ramsey's Hell's Kitchen. I mention this because evidently the cocktails weren't quite as weak as they tasted, and my wife kept bugging the guy working right across from us to yell, "YES CHEF" just once. "That's French," he explained. Actually, I thought that if it was really a French thing, then it would be: "OUI CHEF!," but I decided not to bring it up.
OK, so I mentioned the cocktails. Tasted great and evidently hid the alcohol content. About ten bucks each...She had the "Clever Girl," and I tried the "Wise Mexican..." Clever and Wise: that's us. She was clever enough to joke with the "chef" at the Chef's Table, I was wise enough to keep my mouth shut - except to eat.
We really never made it past two appetizers. (We fill up fast lately, which is probably good, but we really meant to try their acclaimed burgers.) We ordered the Street Tacos (3, small, soft taco's with pork-belly), which were tasty and good. I'd never had pork belly before and was both apprehensive and intrigued. It's a bit like fatty bacon. I wish they'd have had carnitas - shredded pork instead. But they were good. We also tried the "Filthy Fries" which at some places are called "dirty fries," without the alliteration. Also good, but we didn't finish. I ordered a dark beer: I can't remember the name, but it may have been Avery Samael's Oak Aged, or some such - high alcohol content, but you can pay as little as 6 dollars for a 8 oz glass, or as much as 15 bucks for an 8 oz bottle or somewhere in between. Check the beer menu on their site: www dot saltedpigriverside dot com. You'll see what I mean.
Overall, a good night out - and we live in Riverside. If you're Staying at the "historical" Mission Inn or nearby, you should probably splurge and go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salted Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Salted Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing