We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many bugs”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We tried to stay there this past weekend, when we got ready for bed my son asked what the bug was on his bed. It was a bed bug and underneath the matteress more bugs! Plus the pillows were dirty and stained. We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JELewis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

On our little road trip, our next stop was the Mission Inn area of Riverside. We like to walk the area and then hit some Route 66 locations. We read the T Lodge had be renovated and was a great price. It is very nice. But it needs some fine tuning. There are only canned lights in the ceiling. If we wanted to turn a light on at night we had to light up the whole room (and not very well for reading). They could use sconces or table lights by the beds or on the desk. Also, there is no outlet near the sink. The closest one is way over the microwave and fridge...which is where the dinky coffee maker was. There is no coffee in the lobby so we tried to make our own. The pot is over 5 feet up so I couldn't see to add water or put the coffee pouch in. Simple, we moved it over to the desk area. Nice clean beds, but we could hear the guy in the next room talking real loud on his phone. Doesn't he know you don't have to yell into your phone anymore!
Nice quick trip to the Mission Inn at a great price!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

For the price I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. It has obviously been remodeled to compete with other low budget hotel. The shower water was cold..at least until I figured out that hot was cold and cold was hot :/ lol. The pool is horrendous. When I asked about it I was told that the pool was closed. By the looks of it I sure as hell hoped so. The girl at the front desk wasn't the brightest bulb on the tree. When I asked her if she'd honor their Expedia rate, she said what do you mean? When I asked her if that were a incorporated she responded with the same question..what do you mean? Nevertheless the rooms were nice for the price; and it's close to downtown. Beware of riffraff loitering in the parking lot ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1976ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The exterior doesn’t show much, but the inside… WOAH! Thunderbird Lodge is one of the cleanest, comfy, and friendly hotels. EVER!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Large updated, comfortable room with mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our toilet kept running and the satalite TV kept going out but as soon as we brought it to the manager's attention it was taken care of. The pool was scummy and full of leaves - we were dissapointed there was no swimming. The room was clean, the staff was friendly. If you are looking for a clean room at a good price stay here, just check to see if the pool is available before booking the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ah2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here to see the RIverside Festival of Lights in early December and was charmed, was the perfect place to stay, close location to downtown and was blown away by appearance of hotel. Original Structure and neon sign from 50 years ago, but totally modern and kept up. Rooms have all been redone, and are very beautiful inside and out and extremely clean. Great pricing for what you get. Would love to stay again, highly recommend to anyone needing to stay in the area. Bed was extremely comfortable and got great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We couldn't be happier with this hotel! Our room was immaculate, the price was right, the bed was super comfortable and we could swear the rooms was sound proof! When we first arrived, there were only 4 cars in the parking lot. When we woke up...the parking lot was full and we didn't hear a thing!! My hubby is a light sleeper and usually hears everything....not here! The rooms are really quiet. One last thing...the staff (Jeanette)was very friendly and accommodating! All in all....a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrigolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.7 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
0.9 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: 2711 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507-4237
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Riverside Foundation just awarded us with the Historical Preservation Award. Come see our transformation of one of the few Historical locations in Riverside. Located in the heart of Riverside with restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Come see one of the best value for your money in Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing