We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the Inland Empire”
Review of Mario's Place

Mario's Place
Ranked #7 of 703 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the Inland Empire”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Mario's Place has great food. Their pasta dishes are not to be missed. Caesar salad is probably the best I've had anywhere. This is also a great late night spot with jazz on Saturday nights. The wine list is very impressive. Service can be a bit mixed but we keep on coming back for the food. We have never had a bad meal here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMiller828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    41
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton MA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Italian food in California”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Finding Eastern Italian food out West is difficult. Mario's Place is excellent. Just a few steps from the Riverside hotels and in an area where walking is easy. Mario's is the closest to Italian food I have had on the West Coast. Really enjoyed the meals if not a bit overpriced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 24thIDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh food, good presentation, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Satisfied my squash cravings tonight by having stuffed zucchini blossoms for appetizer, followed by butternut squash ravioli with porcini mushrooms and sage butter. This was only one of their seasonal offerings, and it was delicious. I ate indoors, although I could have chosen to sit outdoors, with a view across the street of the historic Riverside Mission. This was the first time I'd been there, but I will certainly be back when I work in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wavemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One word: OVERPRICED!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Some friends suggested we go there for our anniversary...I can appreciate an upscale Italian restaurant but there was nothing spectacular about this place. It was so dark we couldn't read the menu. The food took a long time to get to us. The bread the waiter handed to us with tongs was cold and hard as a rock. The salad was a joke...about the size of a can of tuna. We took another couple with us so there were 4 of us. We each had a glass of wine, shared 2 appetizers and our dinner. The bill came to a whopping $289!! MAYBE if the food was to die for we would feel it was worth it for a special occasion, but it just wasn't. Very disappointed and feeling sick on the drive home for spending so much money on dinner. Needless to say, we will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissouriMarigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fodor's is right again! This was great”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were staying at the Mission Inn across the street and Fodor's travel guides recommended Mario's Place across the street. Good choice we all agreed. There were 6 of us at dinner and everyone enjoyed their meal. My husband and I shared an unusual appetizer -- smoked salmon/mascarpone terrine with a light green salad. It was marvelous. I can't now recall what everyone else had, however my main pasta dish - linguine checca - was perfectly cooked and really delicious; spicy with the creaminess of the goat cheese contrasting. Service was prompt without being over-bearing and the environment very pleasant at the end of a hot day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tansay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mario's Place also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing