We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what promised”
Review of Santa Cruz Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Cruz Inn
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed 11 February 2010

When I made reservations I was told they would have a continental breakfast each morning but there was none. When asked the staff said there had never been a continental breakfast. Now I see their advertisement has eliminated this offering. Spartan accommodations. One day our room was not made up at all and it was too late at night when we arrive back. No tissue or any amenities at all! Forgot shower hat & asked for one. They don't have tissue, or anything one might forget. Office staff not friendly. Had to speak to them through tiny hole in plastic window. Dark and drab.Could be charming if they showed a little care.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaliforniaTriphopper, Manager at Santa Cruz Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2010

Thank you for choosing the Santa Cruz Inn.

I do apoligise for the experience you had at the Inn, however I disagree with your overall review of the Inn. When you had made the reservations, you were told of a complimentary breakfast and not a continental breakfast. Like the staff had mentioned, "there has never been a continental breakfast served". We do realize that we need to keep the rooms clean and provide housekeeping in order to satisfy all our guests. Our records indicate that on the particular day when your room was not made up, was due to the fact that the Spouse/Partner that you had travelled with had requested a "Do not disturb, we are fine thank you" from housekeeping.
In-room amenities are provided to guests(shampoo/conditioner,bath/shower gel, body lotion and soap bars),other amenities on the property are free wireless internet & free parking. As for the office staff not being friendly, I think they were helpful and showed extra care to when your Spouse/Partner needed driving directions to the nearest Home depot. Staff went the extra mile by finding, calling and pulling out a mapquest for driving directions to a nearest store in Riverside.
We hope your stay would have been more of a charming one and once again we do apologise for the experience you had encountered with at the Santa Cruz Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Santa Cruz Inn overall. We were surprised at how nice the rooms are, with it being an old hotel. They were very quaint (as everyone else mentions), and not a "cookie-cutter" design. Very spacious. Yes, we had to lower our heads a little to get into the bathroom, but so what? People were much smaller in 1927 when the hotel was built! I would definitely stay here again.

Here are the pros and cons: Pros: 1) Large clean room with couch and coffee table, 2) the best hot drink machine I have ever encountered (it even opens up your packet for you), 3) microwave AND refrigerator in every room. Cons: 1) Very poor internet ISP. It was always at one bar for me and I had a very hard time getting on. 2) No breakfast is offered, although the previous owner said there was a complimentary breakfast. 3) The TV reception was pretty poor. Some stations were clear, some were terrible. The previous owner had said flat-panel, but we had a regular 25" TV.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stattad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I read the reviews and booked a night at the Santa Cruz Inn only to find a completely different experience than I expected. The manager (who was nice) came to the desk wearing a sleeveless white T-shirt behind bullet-proof plastic. I had to shout through little holes drilled in the plastic. The tiny room was sweltering until he came out and switched on a feeble AC unit. We were given a large room (sweltering as well). The doorway to the bathroom was so low that my son had to duck his head stepping down into it. The room was not clean. A used washcloth was by the sink, there was trash in the bin and the coach was really bad. On the coffee table was a pamphlet "HIV Infection and AIDS: An Overview!" The manager has already switched us once so I didn't ask to be moved again although he probably would have (the first room was better). This morning I found mold on the shower curtain. We were not told of any continental breakfast but I wouldn't eat here even if offered. This is not what I expected.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolebv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santacruzinn, MANAGER at Santa Cruz Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2009

Dear Carol.
Thank you for staying at the Sant Cruz Inn.
I do apoligize for the bad experience you had at the Inn. Unfortunately, I disagree with your remarks on the review. Some of the issues that you had encountered with like for one;
- the structural features of the property, this is
a historical building built in 1927 and the
historical features of the property have not
been removed during remodelling, one
being the entrance to doorways(bathroom &
entrance doors).
- due to the weather conditions in the
summer periods, the heat can be extremely
unbearable. Unfortunately, we cannot do
anything about this. Our records indicate
that upon your arrival, you were not satisfied
with the 1st suite allocated to you due to
extreme heat, the desk clerk had arranged
for another suite to accommodate your
needs.
- on making your initial reservation, you
should have been told or noticed from your
booking that we do provide a
'complimentary" breakfast and not a
continental breakfast.

Once again, we do apoligize for any problems
that you had experienced during your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I stumbled upon this motel while staying in another location nearby that was too commercialized. This place is a quiet, quaint little motel in close proximity to everything Riverside has to offer. The buildings have nice architectural features and the property is well maintained. The rooms are reasonably priced, are clean and have all the basic amenities. The owners/ staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this motel to anyone traveling in or around Riverside county.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsteindesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Rooms have microwave & refrigerator. This is the great feature for working class guys like me worked at the Fox Thearter. Excellent comfortable rooms, friendly staff. Good value for price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mesa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Good service at the front desk.The motel is near mission Inn
and Convention Center. Rooms are clean with breakfast. Very
beautifull motel with a Spanish-style building.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank law16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

I booked this hotel on Alaska Air's hotel website, (the same as Expedias). I was a bit worried about the low price but my options were limited as I was running out of time. The hotel is an older mission style building in downtown Riverside. Two stories with a newer wing. An attractive courtyard with a fountain and stairs leading to the second floor. A narrow hall but that's the limitations of an older building. The room was nicely remodeled with a very comfortable bed. Lots of TV channels. A few finishing areas could have been better but generally good. The whole place was very clean. There were nice decorating touches in the hallway as well as the room.

Would I go back, you bet! This could be Riverside's best kept secret.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Inn

Address: 3425 Market St, Riverside, CA 92501-2825
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Cruz Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Cruz Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing