We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud but Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Loud but Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Riverside Marriott at the Convention Center is located in downtown Riverside, about 15 minutes away from the University of California Riverside.

Although okay during the day, the area seems a little seedy at night.

The parking garage is a respectable $8 night. As you enter the hotel from the parking garage, the front desk is to the left. Although somewhat small, the lobby seems fairly spacious due to the high ceilings. The lobby is brightly decorated with seating throughout and a “fireplace” to give a more homely feel.

Check-in was efficient. I was given a room on one of the Concierge Levels right across from the lounge, which is unfortunately closed on the weekends as is the case with most Marriotts.

Upon entering the room, the bathroom is to the right. The bathroom is somewhat small but clean with a fair amount of counter space. Bath & Body Works amenities are provided.

The dresser and TV are situated along the left side of the room. Thee is a small refrigerator in the cabinet on the left.

The desk is next to the dresser and TV. One thing I don’t like about Marriott is that there are usually two parts to the desk. The main desk is “fixed” but there is usually another section of the desk underneath which needs to be pulled out in order to do any type of computer work. Unless you are Shaq, typing on the main part of the desk would be quite a task as it is very high. Fortunately, there was a side drawer that provided extra work space that made working much easier.

There is a chair with a small table in the corner which I would imagine goes largely unused.

The bed is very comfortable, as are the pillows. As I arrived late, turn down service must have been provided as there were two chocolates on the bed.

Unfortunately there was some type of convention going on in the hotel. There were hundreds of teenagers running around and screaming throughout most of the stay. Although the hotel could not control that many kids, I did appreciate being placed on a higher level with no kids on the floor so it made the stay more pleasant.

As the lounge is closed on the weekends, Marriott Gold & Platinum members will get access to the full breakfast buffet in the restaurant which includes an omelet station. The buffet contains the usual suspects such as eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, and oatmeal as hot options. Cold options include cereals, breads, pastries, yogurt and fruit.

The Riverside Marriott at the Convention Center is centrally located if being downtown is important. Service was pleasant and friendly, and being provided the full breakfast buffet rather than having an upcharge was a nice touch.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    141
    58
    28
    11
See reviews for
79
53
26
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Riverside Marriott is a comfortable hotel and reasonably priced. The room was large, clean and quit including the air conditioning system. The only problem we saw was that parking and a Wi-Fi connection cost extra. They didn’t even include a complimentary breakfast which was surprising (couldn't they spring for coffee and bagels?).

We had a late lunch at a little “hole in the wall” restaurant called El Sapape. It's not far from the hotel. The Mexican food was outstanding (try the Albondigas soup!).

Room Tip: The hotel has a senior rate for folks sixty-two and over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I am on the road three to four nights a week (I know, very sad!) and I can't adequately express how much I look forward to coming "home" to the Riverside Marriott. It is truly a home away from home in that the staff does not act or treat me like they are staff; they are family and friends. The rooms are spacious and always immaculate, the WiFi is always working, the gym is outstanding and the walks that are available in Riverside starting from the hotel are perfect to get some exercise. I can't say enough about the folks that work there so matter what city in the Inland Empire I am working in, I go out of my way to stay at the Riverside Marriott.They are that incredible; you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For sunsets, get a room on the pool side; if sunrises are your thing, get one on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed more than 100 times at the Marriott Hotel located on Market Street in Riverside, California. The hotel is excellently run and provides outstanding service to its guests. Everyone is friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and well maintained as is the rest of the hotel. The restaurant serves wonderful food.

Karmina Valdez who is the Front Office Manager, does a superb job of making sure all guests feel welcome and are well taken care of. I highly recommend this Marriott hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your continued loyalty of the Marriott Riverside! We understand you have many options when traveling and are happy to hear we are able to provide outstanding service to you and all our guests. As always, we look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Riverside. If I may ever assist with future reservations, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Chad Thompson, General Manager 951-784-8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Beautiful hotel, lobby is nicely decorated. Lobby bar and restaurant are both easily accessible and food and service are great. Room service is quick and the food is good. The concierge lounge is very nice and the food is abundant and delicious. Staff in every area are helpful and very pleasant. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCCubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialmediacoord, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are delighted to hear we met your expectations and provided great service during your stay. Our staff always strives to exceed expectations and we are happy to hear all areas met you traveling needs. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Chad Thompson, General Manager 951-784-8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Marriott property kept clean and in updated condition. Room (#402) and common areas were all very nice.
The lobby has chairs scattered throughout wiht small "desk/tables" which are great when you step out of a meeting.
The service and staff were all professional and friendly.
The restaurant on site had good food.
Location is GREAT - Just accross from the mission in and close to serveral great restaurants - I suggest "Prohibition"

Only negatives:
Gym/Exercise - Limited and small
No Fruit Smoothie / Yogurt drink options at bar in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett-Christy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I've been staying here on and off for the last 6 months and can honestly say I'm blown away with how great the service is, how friendly everyone is and how great the overall atmosphere is. The staff will bend over backwards to help you with any request. The bartenders will keep you entertained with their jokes. The managers will come out onto the floor and talk to you about your day and make the overall experience great! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go4Leffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center

Property: Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Address: 3400 Market St, Riverside, CA 92501-2826
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riverside
#5 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover home on the California trail at the full service Marriott Riverside hotel located in the heart of historic downtown Riverside nestled in the Inland Empire. The hotel is located adjacent to the newly renovated Riverside Convention Center, and 15 miles from Ontario International Airport. The hotel features 292 luxurious accommodations including 25 spacious suites ideal for the business and leisure travelers. The hotel is within walking distance to the Fox Performing Arts Center, the historic Mission Inn, the Riverside Pedestrian Main Street Mall, and 2 miles from the University of California Riverside. The hotel is also a mile from the Riverside County Superior Courthouse, major corporations, and 10 miles from March Air Force Reserve Base. The hotel offers a business center, a dedicated Concierge lounge with breakfast & evening Hors d'oeuvres, and 14,000 sq. feet of meeting space with 2 ballrooms. The hotel is just minutes from Mt. Rubidoux and 30 minutes to the Temecula wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Marriott Hotel Riverside
Marriott Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing