We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We selected this motel for 3 nights to attend granddaughter's orientation at UC-Riverside as it is a very convenient location to the university. Our ground-floor unit was clean and very functional and fairly well maintained. The queen bed was great. The sleeper sofa, however, was not suitable for sleep. The sleeper mattress was very thin and not adequately supported. Our granddaughter slept on the sofa using the sleeper bedding. It worked OK. Other than this situation, the motel is very adequate and a great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilS1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIRiverside, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your experience with us. Since we're only a few blocks from the UC Riverside campus, we get a lot of guests who stay with us for UC Riverside related activities. Aside from some room quality issues, I'm glad your overall stay was a positive one. I want all of my guests to have a comfortable stay, so I appreciate the detailed comment you left. There have been a few sofa beds that were recently replaced due to old age. The one that was used during your stay could have quite possibly been already replaced.

Once again I want to thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you consider staying with us the next time you're in the Riverside area. If you have any further comments, do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Daniel Yoon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
10
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upland, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was worried because it was late and I had to park a distance from my room. I was alone with my young Granddaughter! The desk clerk assured me that we would be fine and she would have a company employee meet us at my car and accompany us to our room! We had a comfortable night and had a great breakfast in the A.M. Thank You

Room Tip: I can't remember, Sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We chose this hotel quickly by the stars on the hotel site and TripAdvisor without actually reading the reviews. For some reason although everyone seemed to have some problem they still gave high star ratings. As we drove up to the motel we were worried about the neighborhood. It seemed pretty run down with a lot of pedestrian traffic thru the property. The property did not remove our doubts. First impression - old truck stop. Complete with a large dirt truck parking lot with shipping containers used for storage. The motel itself is old motel style with individual outside entrances to each room. Entering the lobby we noticed an odd smell. Not a good sign. The good thing about this motel was the check in. The desk clerk was polite and helpful.

The room itself was big but it had problems. Almost every surface and piece of furniture was worn. It felt clean enough to spend a night in but more attention is needed to cleaning and reapairing/replacing. Lighting in the bathroom area is poor. The good news is that the bed, bedding and pillows were great and we got a great night's sleep.

Breakfast was another problem. There were only a handful of tables in the small lobby. Way too small for a hotel with about 120 rooms. The staff seemed to have a problem keeping food items stocked so our choices were limited.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for one night, when I needed a decent room at a good price. Check in was fast and easy, they allow pets for an extra fee and there was enough sleeping area for my four children and I. The complimentary breakfast was very nice, and I felt fairly safe on the property. I have paid more for much less. This is a great place to stay if you need a stop that's not far from the freeways or if you are doing things in the area. Close to UCR, movies, fast food, downtown....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed at other Comfort Inns in the past but nothing like this one. Very clean ,quiet, the most comfortable king bed that I have ever slept on and the atmosphere of the room was very plush and comfy. We will definitely stay there again.

Green Features: Very Green friendly!!! The signs are on the bed to conserve by placing towels on rack for reuse. Soaps are environmentally friendly as the lotions and shampoos.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIRiverside, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Estella,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Riverside in May and also for the kind words. I will let all of my staff know that their work was praised by you. I'm happy that you noticed our green ways and that you enjoyed our new bedding. If you have any further comments regarding your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you keep us in mind the next time you're in the Riverside area!

Sincerely,
Daniel Yoon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The check in was Smooth.
the front desk girl was very friendly and professional. When You Consider The Price , Location And Cleanliness You Can't Go Wrong. I Have Paid Much More For Much Less. I Would Recommend This Hotel And Would Stay Again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkiesdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIRiverside, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! If you have any further comments, do not hesitate to give me a call. I hope you come stay with us again the next time you're in Riverside.

Sincerely,
Daniel Yoon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here the night before surgery at Riverside community hospital. The desk clerk was very nice and the hotel gave me a discount when I mentioned that I was checking in to the hospital the next morning (YAY). My wife and I found the room comfortable if a bit on the small side. Parking was right outside the door. The air conditioner was one of the noisy under window models and gets the usual low marks as a result. I have to point out that this hotel uses those little tiny pillows that allow them to say they provide them without concern for tenant comfort. I did not have time to enjoy the breakfast so I won't include it here. Our stay was pleasant but unremarkable and I would recommend this property to a friend.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the property seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIRiverside, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi Rodney,

Thank you very much for leaving an overall positive review on your recent stay with us. I wanted to let you know that we actually have plans in place to upgrade our bedding. We will be upgrading our blankets, sheets, bed skirts, and yes even the pillows! We will offer both soft and firm pillows, as well as an oversized pillow in our single King bed rooms. These changes will take into effect by January 2014. I hope you choose to stay with us again, so you can enjoy these new upgrades. Hopefully you have time to enjoy our hot breakfast too!

Sincerely,
Daniel Yoon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Dynasty Suites Hotel
Dynasty Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 1590 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507-4468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Riverside
Comfort Inn Riverside
Riverside Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing