We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not That Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed 19 February 2007

Bottom line...I've stayed at worse hotels, but I've also stayed at much better hotels for less. Having arrived in Riverside after just staying at the MGM Grand in Vegas, I'll admit I was a tad spoiled. For the rate I paid, however, I was expecting a little better out of a Choice Hotels property.

For starters, my brother was staying with me and noticed a little mold in the bathroom. We didn't really say anything about it only because my brother was more concerned about simply having a place sleep at night. One other thing we noticed is the lack of electrical outlets we were able to use to charge cell phones, electric razors, laptops, etc. It seemed like all but one outlet was covered by furniture. To use the iron that was provided, we had to unplug either a lamp or the alarm clock in the front corner of the room.

The beds were comfortable enough, but it seemed like the mattress covers came off a little too easily. If you toss and turn at night, I guarantee that your cover will be halfway off the mattress in the morning.

It's also worth mentioning that a tip experienced travelers give advising you to wear a pair of flip flops when you're in a hotel room certainly applies to this property. I forgot to bring flip flops on this trip, and when I got ready to take a shower on my first morning here, I noticed the bottom of my feet were almost completely black. Needless to say, I found this relatively nasty.

If your travels ever take you to Riverside, I would strongly recommend staying at the Courtyard by Marriott (1510 University Ave) as opposed to this particular Comfort Inn.

Stayed: February 2007
8  Thank Pushcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2006

We were warned that this end of University Ave was dangerous, with shootings. As out of towners, we didn't know what to expect, but it was just like any big city location. We found the staff uniformly polite and professional, the location just fine, the room well-maintained and safe, and the (mildly heated) pool clean. It was a good deal for the price and never did we feel unsafe or disappointed.

Free breakfasts add to the deal - toast your own bagels and make your own waffles, with coffees and juices. Great for families. We'd stay again.

Stayed: November 2006
5  Thank TripFuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2005

The Comfort Inn, Riverside, California was quiet when we stayed there (two nights a week apart) and reasonably priced. The front desk staff was very helpful in giving us the type of room we wanted. The continental breakfas was good with Krispy Creme donuts (Krispy Creme is next door to the Comfort Inn.) Everything was very clean. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank coldsprings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Beach, California
320
Reviewed 17 April 2005

Despite being on the edge of a ragged neighborhood, this C.I. was above average for the chain. The room was nicely furnished with an easy chair and ottoman. The property was quiet even though it was near railroad tracks. The desk staff was very professional and helpful. It is just a few minutes' drive from downtown Riverside, unfortunately too far (and probably not safe) to walk.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank kyky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
0.3 mi away
Dynasty Suites Hotel
Dynasty Suites Hotel
#9 of 24 in Riverside
52 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 1590 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507-4468
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: £63 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Riverside
Comfort Inn Riverside
Riverside Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing