We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the rooms, not the breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go for the rooms, not the breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I had a reservation at another hotel, but when I arrived, I knew that I could not stay there for many reasons. Then I remembered I had passed a Courtyard. So I went back. The hotel is in the midst of a major lobby renovation, but the staff was friendly and the room was immaculate. I would have almost eaten off the floor.

The downside to this hotel was the breakfast offered. I have travelled a lot this summer and maybe I have grown used to good hotel breakfast offerings. Or maybe it had to do with the renovation, but this was not up to Marriott standards. The only hot thing offered was tasteless scrambled eggs. No salsa or even catsup to add any flavor. I looked for salt and pepper. One very small packet of each was packaged in with the plastic tableware. No microwave to heat up the breakfast pastries. I saw several people taste them and throw them away. A little heat helps that. Cold cereal....with fat-free milk? Not even a banana to put on the cereal. Apple or orange? Well, this is southern California. There were two people staffing the breakfast area and they were attentive. Just not up to what I expect from Marriott.

And I agree with the person who talked about the neighborhood. Near UCR, but sleazy!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
YES we are past the midway point of our renovation and we are very excited to be done and see our new lobby! We are very sorry that our breakfast set up for the renovation was not satisfactory for you. We did add ketchup and salsa to the limited buffet and I think you may have helped other travelers that followed you, so thank you very much for your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    60
    37
    5
    10
See reviews for
42
23
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I had a family event to attend in Riverside and the Courtyard was the closet hotel. We stood one night and the overall quality was good for the price we paid. Free parking, pool closed at 11 pm and local pizza deliveries were available till 3 am. Only downside is theirs not much to do in Riverside, or at least near the hotel that I saw. But overall they had great customer service and the rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view, waking up to the view of the mountains was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SassyCassie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are very glad you enjoyed the view of Box Springs from one of our balcony rooms, the other side of the hotel has more views of Downtown and Mt. Rubidoux in the distance. Let us know next time you are coming to Riverside and we can help suggest some fun things to do as well as nightlife in the area. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

You can tell this hotel has a GM that really cares about customer service. ALL of the staff that I interacted with (Front desk, Housekeeping and Maintenance) we all very friendly and very helpful. We had a situation where we needed 2 rooms together as my wife's 88 year old grandmother needs extra help with getting around. We had booked our room several week before she did and so they were not a joining rooms. The hotel was completely booked (youth soccer tournament), but they worked it out for us and got us 2 rooms together!

I highly recommend this Marriott if you need to stay in Riverside, CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
We are so glad you had a great stay Larry G and we loved that we were able to accomodate your family needs. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Courtyard Riverside and thank you for the great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel great, room great, loved the view was on the 4th floor facing mountains.

Breakfast buffet outstanding and person in charge most attentive.

However thiis hotel needs to fence (iron gate) the property from the public.

Was agressively panhandled 2x and attempted to be sold stolen goods while having a smoke.

They need to gate it like in Puerto Rico, the neighborhood is sleazy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jahunaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Riverside is a very beautiful city and we are very glad you were able to enjoy the views of Box Spring Mountain from your room. We will pass on the great comments as well to our breakfast team, they work very hard and they do a wonderful job. I apologize for the encounters you had outside, we do want all of our guests to feel safe and we do our best to keep the area secure, we will however review our procedures in lieu of your comments. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This isn't the best Courtyard I've stayed in. The building, while in decent condition, just has a kind of tired feeling in the hallways and lobby. Nothing wrong with it, but it just has that feeling. It is located near downtown Riverside, which is a pretty cool place (never been there before), with several nice restaurants, as well as the usual college bar stuff. The staff overall was very friendly and helpful, with breakfast suggestions when we wanted to go out, restaurants downtown, and there was just a feeling that they would go the extra mile if needed to provide good service. That's what gave this review a 4 star instead of 3.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Membermaine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here with us at the Courtyard Riverside Downtown/UCR Area. Our team here is amazing and I too believe they are worth a STAR! I will definitely share your comments with them. We will have a renovation/refresh coming up soon and we will keep everyone posted when this is to begin. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temecula
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This is centrally located, close to the freeway, walking distance from many good restaurants. The staff is friendly, and considerate. They have a nice little bar, a bistro and a morning breakfast!! I would stay there again. Great managers too!! It is just far enough away from the university that you wont be bothered but close enough if your visiting your child. Large guest rooms with micro wave and mini fridge.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Our team here at the Courtyard Riverside is amazing and I am so glad that our guests can see it too. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon, and thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

While this courtyard has been updated, it is still lacking the usual/new courtyard appearance and feel. The rooms were ok but the beds are too soft. The lobby is decent with a nice bar and breakfast room. The employees were all friendly and helpful. The location was good for restaurants and proximity to the university. Overall, this was an okay place to stay for what we needed to accomplish while in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We have some geat news for you! While we are very proud of the way our team has cared for this hotel we are actually putting our plans together now to update this property with the brand new Courtyard room and lobby designs. We of course will let everyone know when we do actually start. Thank you for taking time to review our property, and I am very pleased that you mentioned our associates and how helpful and friendly they are, we will share your comments with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riverside hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
1.7 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Address: 1510 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507-4468 (Formerly Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area)
Region: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of modern amenities and sink into a relaxing guest room with a fresh, modern style when you visit the Courtyard by Marriott UCR / Moreno Valley Area. When you arrive, a front desk Navigator will be nearby to help you on your way as you discover the best things to do in Moreno Valley. Upon entering your recently renovated guest room you can kick back and relax in plush bedding and enjoy the modern décor that will help you feel right at home during your visit. At the hotel, you'll have access to luxurious amenities to elevate your stay. With a full on-site fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, and an on-site bar and restaurant (The Bistro) your every need will be handled with the utmost care by our dedicated and friendly staff. Using complimentary wireless internet, you'll be able to post and share your exciting adventures around Moreno Valley, allowing you stay connected with friends and loved ones during your stay. Check-in begins at 3 pm and check-out is at 12:00 p.m. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Riverside Hotel Riverside
Courtyard Riverside
Riverside Courtyard
Riverside Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing