We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food, Great Service!”
Review of Via Roma Pizzeria

Via Roma Pizzeria
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in Rocklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rocklin, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Great Service!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I had dinner tonight at the Via Roma (Rocklin, CA) restaurant and had a wonderful meal, truly Italian through and through. Upon entering, we were greeted by a friendly waitstaff and later welcomed by the co-chef and maitre'd, Henry, who has always been extremely cordial and courteous. Our order was taken quickly, the bread and water were brought promptly and everything was handled in an orderly fashion. The day's special(tortellini with sausage in a ragu sauce) was explained to us, which my wife ordered, and I ordered a baked spaghetti with mozzarella. Both of these were absolutely outstanding! My wife and I have been to Italy at least seven or eight times, each time eating in various restaurants, and Via Roma can stand proudly against these Italian eateries. Over the years, I have tried almost everything on the menu and I have not had a meal that wasn't satisfying. From Tuesday through Thursday, Via Roma has a special meal which includes soup or salad, a main course, and dessert (with a special reduced cost on a glass of wine) for a very reasonable price. During the meal, the water glasses were kept full, the waitstaff continued to ask us if everything was in order, and overall the service was exemplary. I will say that this was a Tuesday evening and the restaurant was not filled to capacity which probably allowed the waitstaff to be so attentive. That notwithstanding, the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting really authentic Italian food. This is not a chain and everything is prepared for this restaurant and for its customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrvlDn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Italian gem of Rocklin”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a corner of Rocklin, many people may not be aware this Italian restaurant exists. For those who have never been here, your missing an opportunity to enjoy great food, excellent wait staff with a cozy atmosphere. Their pizza is fantastic...I recommend the plain cheese pizza as it is anything but plain. The pizza topped off with a mitza salad makes a perfect dinner combination on a tight budget. If you want to spend a night out with someone special, then try the risotto with one of their wines...easily the best risotto you'll taste!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Refreshingly good and not a chain. Very enjoyable. Nice service. Roma would be proud of this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agizip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great neighborhood Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Excellent Itailian pizzeria with simple yet delicious pastas. Seafood risotto very good as is other pastas and at excellent prices and a nice Italian wine selection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent.....every time!”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

We have been to Via Roma 6 or 7 times in the last year & have never been disapointed. We always make reservations since they do tend to get busy on weekends.

The last time we went (3 days ago) we ordered salad & Mario's special pizza. The salad was the freshest we have ever had in a restaurant with a delighful light & tasty dressing. The goat cheese was soft & fresh, but they could have used more.

The pizza arrived very hot, straight from the oven. Sauce tasted home made & toppings were plentiful.

We usually order wine & often ask for a suggestion from our waiter, who has never steered us wrong.

We will definately go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgadavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Roma Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Via Roma Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing