We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and lousy”
Review of Mary's Pizza Shack

Mary's Pizza Shack
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in Rohnert Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lousy”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have eaten here twice, but most recently just a few weeks ago. The food is just bland and disappointing. It's overpriced for a pizza place. It's welcoming and offers good service, but the value for your money just lacks justification for choosing to eat there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole_Serna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    54
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved. Funky pizza joint with lively sports bar.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is really close to the Doubletree where we stayed during our last Sonoma County visit. We only sat in the bar area, but had a ball meeting locals and other travelers. The bartender was awesome and made sure we tasted a sip of any beer or wine we ordered prior to pouring a full glass which was appreciated. They have great wines and beers on taps_not a typical pizza joint! The spinach salad was enough for a family of 4, but fresh and delicious. They also have several different sizes of pizzas so you aren't stuck with more than you need. I would definitely go back there_just a really pleasant night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank winegirlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Every year this is where I want to go for my birthday. I've dined in wonderful restaurants from Honolulu to New York City but at Mary's I know some things will always be the same:
my favorite pizza
the atmosphere
the great and friendly service.
Mary's Pizza is a Sonoma County institution but unlike other been-around-forever-places Mary's keeps it young and vital, probably all due to the people who work there.
It's crazy busy and full of loud voices (mostly little kids) and I love it! It's one of those places where you go out to eat and the ages of the diners range from infants to senior citizens. Everyone loves to eat at Mary's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thelmadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Too much for too little”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We have gotten pizza here in the past and it has been pretty decent, but overpriced. This time I ordered the linguine with pesto for around $13. The entree consisted of a small dinner salad and a bowl of linguine mixed with an oily tasteless pesto sauce. That's it! No garlic bread, bread sticks or even parmesan. Very disappointed and way over priced. When I questioned the server I was told that is the way it comes. I doubt I'll go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetocamp90808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“quick inexpensive italian food”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we stopped here for dinner one night and it was very crowded with a lot of locals (good sign that the food was going to be great). we were impressed with the food we got since the place had the look and feel to a national chain restaurant with so-so food, but everything was well prepared.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary's Pizza Shack also viewed

Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
 
Rohnert Park, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Mary's Pizza Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing