We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CAN'T FORGET”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boiling Crab

The Boiling Crab
Ranked #15 of 148 Restaurants in Rowland Heights
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Irvine, California
2 reviews
“CAN'T FORGET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Love the food! However I hate the smell that's left on my hands after I eat this. Always wait for a long time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyLu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

LOVED this place!! There is ALWAYS a wait, even on a Tuesday night...but its so worth it! You must try it just once & you'll be hooked. Cajun spices are the best I have ever had & I am from Arkansas. You eat with your hands...and that is the ONLY downside, you cannot be afraid to get your hands covered in cajun spiced sauces. Next time we are taking some gloves with us, we went thru 2 containers of napkins. Cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissouriMarigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Experience and the Best Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

A great experience to eat seafood totally using your hands and without a plate. Shrimps were superb ! Crab legs and the crabs were very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First timers need warning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I went to the Boiling Crab on a Saturday afternoon. It was a bit crowded but we didn't wait more than 15 minutes to be seated. My boyfriend and I order a lb. of shrimp and a lb. of king crab with french fries. Their fries are really good as well as the food.

This was my first time at a restaurant like this (they've been popping up all over) and I didn't know the shrimp came with the heads. YUCK!! This was tough for us, lucky for me my boyfriend handled the shrimp and gave them to me otherwise I would've wasted them. The king crab was really good but tough to get open. The tool they give isn's strong enough and i bent/ broke one of them. Since king crab is prickly it was a lot of painful work to eat them. I won't order the shrimp or king crab again.

Service was very good, our waiter was very nice and helpful.
I will visit again but next time I will try snow crab with corn and sausage. The snow crab should be easier to open.

You will get very dirty, don't go or order fish and fries if you don't like to eat with your hands.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank queenkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
252 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“College kids hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Tried the place in San Jose before. This one is more like a hangout place for college kids. Ambiance is more rustic. The servers are all like college kids. The food is still very good. The night I was there, they were out of fried oysters

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunjoe075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boiling Crab also viewed

Garden Grove, Orange County
Garden Grove, Orange County
 

Been to The Boiling Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing