We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, efficient staff but accommodations below expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowland Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights, attending a wedding on the fourth day. The room was pre-booked and pre-paid by the host family, so we had not much choice for the room type. Upon checking in, we were given a room with two queen beds on the ground floor facing the pool. When asking the front desk for a king room upgrade, we were told that the difference would be $60 per night and had only one night available. So, we just accepted the assigned room, and were given eight tickets which were required to use the complimentary breakfast – sounded cheap to us as we were regular Hampton customers where breakfasts were open to all customers.
The first indication of problem was the room keys required a few swipes to get a green light by chance. It got worse instead of improving. As we entered the room, we were hit by a strong stale smell while the air conditioner unit was already at 68 degrees and fan running at high speed. This became less offensive as we conditioned to the smell, not that the smell ever went away. We did not go back to the front office to try to get another room because our short conversations with them, both on the phone prior to this trip and upon arrival, clearly indicated that they were really not amenable to make any changes because the room was booked “via third-party”. Buyers be aware: we encountered the same attitude from various hotels, both domestic and overseas, when we booked rooms through Hotel.com or similar internet vendors. This time, our nephew booked the four rooms via Expedia.
We settled down and enjoyed the Los Angeles shopping and dining, and that was great. This hotel was situated in a very busy Chinese-centric part of Rowland Heights, so, we really had a blast in getting great Chinese meals and buying imported stuff in the stores nearby.
Back to the hotel – the breakfasts in the morning were pathetic (may be too strong a word). They were served in two separate rooms labeled as “Western” and “Chinese”, with a couple young attendants at each entrance, strictly enforcing the ticket collections. One could only use the ticket on either room, and they were not interchangeable. The selections were FAR CRY from those hotels in Hong Kong or China where they laid out gourmet eastern and western items. Most of the customers congregated in the “Chinese” room where toast, waffle, beagle and other western breakfast items were available. The choice of Chinese items were few, and my wife told me that a couple meat items were “not so fresh”. We ate mainly waffles and drank coffee every morning at the “Chinese” room. We hardly see any customers in the “Western” room when we walked by.
The other cons are: microwave did not work, but we discovered the problem on the third evening, so we did not bother to report. The bath towels were thread bare, and some were torn on the edges. A nice TV was solidly mounted on the wall, but the channel guide in the book was way outdated. I found CNN by channel surfing, but when called the front desk for Fox News Channel number, it took him a while to figure it out, and it was over twenty channels away from CNN – not common in other hotels where both channels were usually pretty closed together. The hotel was sandwiched between two very busy streets and a very busy freeway was only a stone-throw away, so finding a quiet room would probably be a great challenge.
There were some pros: the front desk associates were very friendly and helpful, perfectly fluent in English and Mandarin, so communications were never problem. Parking spaces were plentiful, and we observed security guards. Great location for shopping and dining, if one likes oriental stuff. There were also quite a few western restaurants and bars_n_grills nearby as we drove around. Its proximity to Ontario Airport, only half an hour distance traveling away from Los Angeles downtown. I could not imagine the traffic to and from LAX during the weekdays! Even on the weekend, our relatives had to drive hour and half to get the LAX car rental center.
Some thoughts to share: this hotel catered heavily to tours groups from mainland China, so be prepared to become tolerance on some cultural behaviors – often, standing on line or politeness stepping aside at doorways or lift entrances usually did not apply. Loud discussions in public places and groups’ on passage ways reluctant to let others pass by were also common place. Although we did not paid for the room, we understood the Expedia prices for the room my nephew booked for the wedding were quite a bit better than similar class hotels around these area. So, these were things to consider and be aware before booking into these hotel.

Room Tip: We were told by the front desk that the ground floor rooms were quieter since there were sound barri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolivitaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western-Ex... I, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you Jim for taking the time to input your review at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. There are a few issues I would like to address that you brought up. In regards to our third party reservations, we have always valued our strong, professional relationship with our third party affiliates and therefore, follow their booking instructions very carefully. We always honor the selected room types booked and are always more than happy to accommodate any specific room requests, based on availability. Because third party guests do not book directly with us and we do not handle any of the room charges, it is difficult for us to upgrade any room types without any additional costs.

In addition, at our property, we have 4 different room types that include different amenities, which values at different rates for each room type. For third party reservations, we charge a $15+tax per night surcharge, for an upgrade to the next room type up, based on availability. I apologize we were not able to accommodate your room upgrade during your stay, due to the high occupancy for those allotted dates. In regards to our breakfast, during high occupancy seasons we open a second breakfast room to better prevent our guests from overcrowding. Because our breakfast offers a wider selection of Asian breakfast items, in addition to our hot, American breakfast, this usually draws a larger crowd, thus, the second breakfast room has proved more convenient for our guests.

In regards to all the issues you experienced with your room, again, I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences. Please understand if you are unsatisfied with your room, we are more than happy to switch you to another room, if you inform the front desk regarding the situation. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement future improvements with both our housekeeping and our maintenance department. Please understand that summer is a high season and this is far, from the standard of service we always strive to provide. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great hotel and friendly staff, nice breakfast. Stay in non-freeway side. Nice rooms and wonderful lobby. Great conference center and the hotel is clean. Lots of close good restaurants that you can walk to. Most all businesses are Chinese style and feels like you took a walk into Asia without having to leave the country!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank C.t. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western-Ex... I, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am glad that our rooms and service were able to meet your expectations, along with the convenience of our location. We appreciate your business and support and we hope to serve you again in the future. Once again, thank you for your response.

Jane Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location but the rate is a little too high. Free wifi & breakfast is a plus! Breakfast ends at 9:30, got there at 9:20, staff was already taking food away. A couple came in 5 mins after me and the staff just kept clearing out the food, I find that very rude. If breakfast is over at 9:30 they should start clearing food out at 9:30 not before 9:30!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SuzyQ208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western-Ex... I, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Suzy for taking the time to input your review. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the convenience of our free Wi-Fi internet. Unfortunately, I apologize breakfast items were cleared before 9:30 AM. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will work with our breakfast attendants to avoid this issue in the future. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to serve you again.

Jane Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent service and beautiful rooms. The amenities and room set-up was thoughtful. I did not try the breakfast but I heard it was good. Nice clean swimming pool. The building is set too close to the freeway and the sound wall is not high enough to block noise from the 60 fwy. Rooms facing the freeway wall did have very bad traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western-Ex... I, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Michael for taking the time to input your review. I am glad that our rooms and friendly staff were able to meet your expectations. Unfortunately, I apologize the location of your room did not meet your expectations. However, we do offer other room types, facing away from the freeway, which are available at a surcharge. Thank you again for your review and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Jane Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel staff very helpful, lobby comfortable, breakfast good, but could be out longer, rooms clean and conference rooms available. There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. If Location is important this is one of just a few hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western-Ex... I, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you Robert for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am glad that our rooms and friendly staff were able to meet your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well. We appreciate your business and we look forward to serving you again. Thanks again.

Jane Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel was chosen because of its proximity to business meetings I had in the area. It is an older design hotel with exterior room access. The hotel and its grounds were very well kept and very clean. The hotel staff were polite and helpful. Very frequent night security patrolling the hotel grounds constantly. The room was very clean and well appointed. Internet service was very good. The breakfast was typical but good hot breakfast with very good breakfast room staff. It is very close to California Highway 60, but I did not notice any road noise. The main drawback was the occasional train at the back of the property. Overall a very good business hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmdalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western-Ex... I, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am glad that our rooms and service were able to meet your expectations, along with the convenience of our location. We appreciate your business and support and we hope to serve you again in the future. Once again, thank you for your response.

Jane Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very nice hotel, good service . I do like the fact that they offer a .late check out at no cost. Right next to the freeway. Breakfast has a good variety of food. Will stay again when in the area. They have shuttle buses taking you too local outlets. Centrally located to many venues around L.A. Orange county areas. Great for Chinese people . Lots of Chinese in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western-Ex... I, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you Gary for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am glad that you found our location and our shuttle services convenient. We are proud our property is located within walking distance to over 20 international restaurants nearby. Thank you again for your response and we look forward to serving you again.

Jane Chang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowland Heights
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Walnut
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus West Covina Inn
2.7 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in City of Industry
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Diamond Bar
3.6 mi away
Ayres Suites Diamond Bar
Ayres Suites Diamond Bar
#1 of 3 in Diamond Bar
553 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Industry Hills Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Executive Inn

Address: 18880 Gale Ave, Rowland Heights, CA 91748-1337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Rowland Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowland Heights
Price Range: £93 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Executive Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near City of Industry, Walnut, Pomona business parks. 20 Minutes to Downtown Los Angeles and Anaheim Convention Center. Walking distance to 20 International Asian-inspired restaurants, grocery store, bank, shops. Free shuttle to Puente Hills Mall, Costco and local businesses within 3 miles. Complimentary American and Chinese breakfast daily. 24-hour lobby business center. Discount shuttle to LAX. Friendly and affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel Rowland Heights
Best Western Rowland Heights
Rowland Heights Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing