We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, cozy room”
Review of Rumsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rumsey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rumsey House
Ranked #1 of 1 Rumsey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were in the area for a birthday party and our friend recommended Rumsey House. We stayed in the Moon Room and thought it was clean, comfortable and cozy. The bed was great. We were not in the room very much but my husband pointed out the skylights and the stars that could be seen through the windows from the bed. Everything about the house is charming from the antiques to the "Fort Rumsey" bed accessible by ladder in the upstairs area. The whole time we were there I was wishing we had brought our son. Another guest's son was asked if he wanted to go feed the chickens in the morning and of course, he did. It is quiet and peaceful and when I go back I will have coffee outside on the covered porch. Camilla is very nice and she made us a wonderful breakfast that was unique and delicious. We felt like old friends by the time we left and it was fun to visit with the other guests over breakfast. We will visit the area and Rumsey House again.

Room Tip: You can see the stars (and sometimes the moon) in the moon room through the skylights. Rent both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickybossyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Camille tried very hard to please us and a great hostess. A great breakfast , fresh walnuts.
The rooms are beautiful, and large enough to accommodate more people if desired.
Close to the river, Wilbur Hot Springs and Cache Creek Casino. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all, including electronic gadgets and cell phones; this place is for you. Rumsey House will give you a chance to regroup your thoughts.
The price includes a full breakfast with fresh ingredients: eggs, polenta, other grain, home-baked bread and walnuts. A real bed; not a sponge.

Room Tip: Bring a camera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Sincerely wonderful time at Rumsey House. Camilla the owner took considerable time and effort to ensure our trip was excellent on every level. Home made everything for breakfast - from nuts, figs, eggs, fruits, and much much more. She kindly lent us a kayak and life vests, then if that was not enough drove to a local spot to direct us there. The area is excellent for adults and kids alike, we enjoyed kayaking, tubing the rapids (5 minute drive) and swimming in Clearlake (40 minute drive). We used the upstairs room which was impeccably clean, bright, spacious, dead quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BagpussZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Had a nice, relaxing weekend at this wonderful spot in Rumsey. We took photos throughout the Capay Valley which was a totally new area for us to explore in California. This inn is perhaps 30 minutes from Wilbur Hot Springs so next time would plan a day at the resort and also time on the river rafting. The inn upstairs has two bedrooms that are both very private with a large sitting area between the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie_clb_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rumsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumsey House

Address: 2996 Rumsey Canyon Rd, PO Box 84, Rumsey, CA 95679 (Formerly Cache Creek Inn)
Region: United States > California > Rumsey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rumsey
Price Range: £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumsey House is a lovely Craftsman B&B with pillow-top beds, very large sunny rooms with private bath. Located in a walnut grove, surrounded by wooded hills and farmland. Cache Creek, a year-round river, flows nearby with rafting, kayaking, swimming. Cache Creek Casino is just up the road. Huge home-cooked breakfast included, using eggs from our chickens, honey from our bees. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing