We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic sanctuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

amazing view with the charming arts and sculptures.
The pool was great and three separate pools by the spas were even better.
Great spa service along with saunas, whirl pool and negative edge pool facing the vineyard.
Staff were very professional and helpful
Restaurant was second best to French Laundry...
Will be a lovely wedding place and definitely will go back again...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    46
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
440
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just checked out of a 2 night stay at Auberge. It was fantastic. It is a beautiful place, the views and charm and luxury of sitting on the balcony for breakfast, lunch or dinner is worth the stay alone. The room was very comfortable with just about every amenity and luxury one could want. No minibar . . . instead a full selection of snacks and beverages at your disposal. Breakfast and room amenities covered in the price of the room. Not inexpensive but well worth the comfort, beauty and graciousness of the best that Napa Valley has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful spot... No question. But our suite topped 2k a night so that's to be expected.

Highlights:
--Exceptional food... Every meal (and we had 9 of them) were delicious.
--Service is understated and warm. Alex and Roberto who work at the pool understand present yet unobtrusive service. They kept our drinks filled and anticipated our need to charge iPads/phones poolside-- they were some of the highlights of the stay.
-- The suites are well appointed (snacks, drinks, amenities) and the bed is comfortable.
-- The spa services (facial and massage) were good. Evan, Christina and Violette all gave skilled/attentive service.

Lowlights:
-- Some service is spotty-- Maggie at the restaurant has an odd and overly-familiar table side manner. While moving to another table she said "take your napkins with you since they already have your cooties". Let me refresh your memory.... This is a 2k a night room. Shameful.
-- Art supplies are delivered to the room, but miss obvious things likes brushes and paper.
-- Spa receptionist was eating and licking her fingers when we arrived. She went on to say she wasn't allowed to eat the chocolate reserved for guests but brought her own.
-- The shower is dark and simple. You can find this quality at a Hilton. I would expect an additional handheld... Or overhead rainshower. This is just one small showerhead.
-- Carlos at the pool has a bit of a wandering eye and veers towards the creepy. He should make eye contact more and look at cleavage less.
-- The grounds are 'charming' but show occasional spots of wear.

Overall, good experience... But for the cost it should be exceptional.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdornoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had the best stay ever at the Auberge du Soleil and were impressed by the impeccable service and the surroundings. As soon as we arrived, reception arranged a table of 6 for us even though the restaurant was already quite busy and got us one of the best tables for dinner. The views from the room were mesmerising and the facilities top notch. They also have a very good masseur which did wonders during reflexology. Even though the stay was expensive, it was well worth it!

Tip for families with children: Even though kids can not use the facilities, they were extremely kind to our 12 & 14 year old and the kids still had plenty to do.

Room Tip: One with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Auberge du Soleil was one of the most fascinating experiences for a hotel/resort that I have ever encountered. The room was gorgeous and impeccably designed. The service from arrival to departure was the best I have ever experienced. Job well done, Auberge. Thank you for making my engagement weekend better than I could have dreamed.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere. All of the rooms are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is incredibly gracious and beautiful. It is built into one of the mountains overlooking the wine country and its view are unparalleled. My husband and I enjoy luxury travel. This is bar none, the nicest resort we have ever stayed in. Even the four seasons in Maui pales in comparison to the food and the quality of service that the Auberge Du Soleil offers, and it had been our number one hotel prior to visiting here. We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed every second of our time here. We are parents, and we enjoyed the 16 and over policy that this hotel offers. Sometimes a couple simply wants a romantic getaway that can only be provided in an adults only setting. The pool was lovely and the food was unbelievable. We had the best meal of our life at Auberge on the Saturday evening before we left. We will definitely be back. This place is very expensive, but well worth it, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a truly special romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaslamplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the best weekend ever. My love and I enjoyed every aspect of Auberge de Soleil. The rooms, the grounds, the spa, the pool, the restaurant. It felt private and yet every need seemed to be anticipated. If you get the chance, you should go!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AltadenaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
6.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
6.7 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Property: Auberge du Soleil
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing