We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2006

We absolutely loved our stay at Auberge. The staff/concierge was so accommodating and friendly. All of our plans throughout Napa and beyond went without a hitch. The room, while on the small size, was very comfortable. There was always a fire lit for us each night when we returned from dinner. Our spa treatments were just what we needed and even though I was nursing a stuffy head, they went overboard making sure I was comfortable. Our view from our top floor corner room terrace, complete with an olive tree heavy with olives and birds, was spectacular. We especially treasured the early mornings enjoying our breakfast on our terrace and watching the hot air balloons rising over the misty vineyards. Beautiful weather, setting and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank day1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    47
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
48
445
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Va.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2005

Was originally disappointed that we were unable to book a room at Auberge. As it was a surprise visit for my wife's birthday (we live in Virginia and had never been to Napa), I had booked another hotel and was put on the wait list at Auberge. On our way out of town, I signed on to book dinner reservations for that evening in DC and saw I had a message from the reservations manager. She informed me that a room had come available for the dates that I had requested. Whirlwind ensued cancelling other accomodations...which had a 72 hour cancellation policy. Hey...it was 75 hours out!

After a couple days in San Francisco, we arrived at the hotel. The property is just what the Doctor ordered. Friendly, courteous check in. Escorted to suite by following golf cart driven by bellman.

Lower Level suite was wonderful. Simple tiled floors, lovely French Doors to patio, large luxurious bathroom with sunken tub and separate shower. Great amenities. The best part was the unbelievable bedding. Room had two flat screens and a CD player witha small library of music. Working fireplace that was great both in the morning and evening. Thought it was hard to beat Ritz Carlton, but guess what, it did!!!

We did not eat at the restaurant, but did enjoy the verandah by off the lounge two of the evenings. Stunning views and wonderful selection of appetizers. Casual yet crisp service. Room service as well was first class. Waiter actually retreived toaster from under coffee pantry in room and plugged it in on patio to allow us to toast bagel for Smoked salmon. Little things do make a difference.

Concierges were most helpful. Steered us towards great wine venues and made any reservation requests that we had with ease.

Upon departure, I had over six cases of wine to be shipped. They arranged everything and it arrived back on the East coast in tact.

While the rates are very high, it was worth every penny. My new motto is "no regrets," and I can assure you, we did not have one regret by staying at Auberge du Soleil

PS-Thank you to whomever cancelled their reservation!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2005

I have been wanting to stay here for years and finally splurged for a birthday. This is the most beautiful, romantic, relaxing place to stay. We also stayed at their sister resort, Calistoga Ranch. Our room was a Cottage Room with a Lower Valley View. The room has a cozy fireplace & a terrace that comes with a sun umbrella, a lounge chair, and a table with two chairs. The decor is very comfortable, yet very elegant. The bathroom has a very large soaking tub complete with candles. The room comes with a bottle of Champagne, fresh fruit, sodas, pretzels, Swiss Milk Chocolate, Granola Bars, & Cheese with Crackers. They even had a small birthday cake waiting. The spa is well worth a vist, very tranquil with a beautiful courtyard. We had lunch at the bar restaurant which has patio seating overlooking the Napa Valley.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2005

Let's get one thing out of the way: Auberge du Soleil isn't cheap. Each time we tell our friends that, however, it's always followed by "but it's worth every penny." Our praises start months before our stay even began. In planning our special vacation, I contacted the hotel's concierge for ideas and help. He was prompt and professional, sending me maps and lists of suggested restaurants and vineyards. He was even able to secure a reservation at a certain culinary temple in Yountville for us! We arrived at Auberge and were greeted warmly by the staff. If your idea of luxury is laced with pomp and ceremony, this is not the place for you. What sets Auberge apart is their way of making you feel thought of, taken care of, at home in every single way. Upon signing in we were told that our room had been upgraded. And what a room it was! Spacious, beautiful, perfect, it came with a private terrace overlooking the valley, a fireplace, 3 flatscreen TVs, and a luxurious bathroom. The personal touches all serve to make you feel at home (your names are handwritten on the mailbox outside your suite, you have a choice of newspapers in the morning, a welcome note with complimentary cheese and wine await you at arrival). The spa is a must (try the couples outdoor mud bath and massage treatment). They even arranged for a tennis partner for me (my partner doesn't play). The hotel also arranged for a knowledgeable driver to take us for a wine-tasting tour. And have drinks at the main house terrace at sunset; nothing will compare to the experience. Admittedly, Auberge was just a part of what made our trip great. The weather, the wine, the food were all necessary ingridients. But so was Auberge du Soleil. And we can't wait to have our second trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank joopynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2005

We stayed one night on the culinary experience package which included a King room, Dinner for 2, in room wine amenity and 2 glasses of wine during dinner ($925 inclusive).

Each room was part of a 4 to 6 unit chalet with own entrance on the side of the hill with car parking just outside the room.

Elegant spacious room with stunning valley view. Complementay refrehment bar with included wi-fi connectivity (which my apple laptop picked up without any problem). Wonderful spacious marble bathrooms. Effective Air con and circular suspended ceiling fan from the high ceiling.

Excellent Dinner (food an service) Sommellier made choice of our included wine to accompany our starters. Huge and comprehensive wine list with a particular focus on Napa wine, but the overseas selection was extensive too.

We also partook in the (complementary) Wednesday evening wine tasting where a local producer offered some of their premium wines for flight tasting (Sommellier was present for this)

Overall service was at a very high level.

Given infinte wealth, I'd take an extensive vacation here. The package is not cheap but we'll definitely come back. The room was the best I've ever stayed in. Also an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EuroTravellerPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2005

I surprised my new wife with a mini-honeymoon to Napa for 3 days, and we stayed at Auberge. We stayed in a hillside king suite that had a partial view of the valley (Versailles #5) Everything was perfect, and my wife and I are both sticklers for hospitality perfection. Things that we loved about the hotel: 1. super-high powered dual shower head showers, 2. huge two person tub with a great assortment of aromatherapy bath gels, 3. great robes and slippers (our sizes, provided before hand), 4. stocked complimentary minibar and fruit, 5. fireplace in the room, with instalog, with candles all over, including the huge couples tub, 6. patio was comfortable and relaxing. 7. bed was really really comfortable, with goose-down, etc. 8. really attentive and friendly staff at every turn, 9. great pool, and pool bar, 10. awesome spa with great mineral baths, etc. 11. extremely private and secluded rooms, 12. very relaxed atmosphere-- no kids running around! 13. The concierge was extremely helpful in assisting my planning of the trip. 14. when we arrived, there was a complimentary "congratulations" cake and bottle of Shremberg sparkling wine to greet us.

I would highly recommend this hotel, but watch out for the prices; they're high. I feel like you get what you pay for though.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank iron_monkey_fist666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohala coast, hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2005

we found Auberge to be nice but not worth the staggering price. we stayed in an upper valley view suite for 2 nights. the room price was $1350 per night, so we expected to be wowed in all departments. we were a bit underwhelmed with the experience in general; the room decor was nice but not superb, the valley view from the deck was mostly blocked by trees, the service was good but not great, the food was good but not great. the spa WAS great, though. we felt a bit ripped off and like we were fleeced by the trip - we would have felt it's value worth about half the price.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mauna_kea_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
6.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Property: Auberge du Soleil
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge du Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing