We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Resort in Napa Valley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Soleil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Resort in Napa Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

Auberge is the quintessential Napa valley resort and the best place to stay in the area. We really enjoy staying here and will continue to stay there when we visit Napa.

We stayed at Auberge for several days in April of 2005 during a wine tasting trip and then again last month in connection with a party we had at Kuleto's winery (which I highly recommend).

The rooms are luxurious and the service is generally good - but not overly impressive (i.e. the coffee machines in both of our friends' rooms broke and no one ever showed up to fix or replace them).

The large bathtubs in the bathrooms are great and I really enjoy the fireplace (which most rooms have) as it gets cool in the evenings and it makes the room very cozy and romantic.

Avoid the main house rooms at all cost - some of our family members stayed there and it is like staying at the Hilton. However, all of the other rooms and suites that we stayed in and saw were lovely.

The gym is nice and spa services were good.

I didn't care for either meal that we had at the main restaurant and would recommend going to other restaurants in the area ( French Laundry is always a treat but there are a lot of other fab places in the area).

Having a wonderful driver who knows the small wineries where you get more for your money and often get to meet the wine makers themselves made all of the difference to our trip. I cannot recommend Larry (Your driver in Napa) highly enough.

Hope this is helpful.

  • Liked — Rooms and views of the valley
  • Disliked — Front desk people and restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank himaintenanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    46
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
440
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2006

I recently had my wedding, reception, and wedding night at Auberge du Soleil. Words cannot do justice to the perfection of my experience. At every level, I walked away completely happy (although granted with much lighter pockets!).

Leading up to and through the reception, the wedding coordinator provided by Auberge as well as the rest of the staff took care of everything and made the event stress-free (well as stress-free as getting married can be!). And then of course both the setting and food were divine as well.

After our reception ended, we were whisked away to our room by golf cart, where the staff had strewn rose petals, lit a fire, and had champage waiting for us (all without us asking). The room was lovely and romantic.

In sum, although Auberge du Soleil is incredibly expensive, I found it worth every penny. We hope to return for our first year anniversary.

Thank you, Auberge du Soleil!

  • Liked — Everything, but most of all the unparalled level of service.
  • Disliked — That I can't stay there more often.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be afraid of the expense, it's worth it.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sadie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2006

Truly expensive & truly worth it. We stayed for one night, booking a garden view room but were upgraded to a hillside view room. Service was fantastic - at our beck & call for any needs. The grounds were spacious & we enjoyed following the pathways of the olive grove & seeing the numerous modern sculptures. My wife's spa massage was "to die for," & I enjoyed lounging in a vanishing pool jacuzzi in the meantime. We borrowed the art supplies & I painted a quick oil of our room as a reminder of such a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

I drove up last weekend on a Sunday for the night from San Franciso where I live to celebrate our wedding anniversary . The service, room, and staff are top notch. We spent a few hours at the spa which is amazing. It felt like we flew to France and drove our car home the next day in only 1.5 hours. Very few places can give you that experience. Special thanks to "Carol" in reservations for making this day so special.
"Listen to the voices in your head" JUST DO IT!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Tips/Secrets — LIfe is too short
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BrianKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2006

My boyfriend and I were scheduled to stay in a private villa at this hotel through a work-related trip. We did not really know what to expect, it was my first time in the Napa Valley.

The hotel, villa and service were great. For the price of the room, these things are expected. While we were there, we needed soe medial supplies since a store was not nearby and we did not have a car (we were supplied drivers that were off for the night) and the room service brought us what they had, right away. We ordered room service one morning and after almost an hour and a half, we were told that our server fell down a flight of stairs...we finally got our food but we had to head out for the day.

This of course was an out of the ordinary situation, but I would have thought that they would be able to work around this. It was not a big deal, just an odd situation - but the room was amazing - a nice apartment for our long weekend.

  • Liked — first class all the way
  • Disliked — room service was not as good as one would expect for a 5 star hotel, but this was a minor issue
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy! this is a great resort
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JewelryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2006

We just returned from a fabulous vacation to Napa/Sonoma including a 2 night stay at Auberge du Soleil. Very expensive, but it was totally worth it. I have never felt so relaxed and pampered. Great service, beautiful view (lower valley view maison room). I wish we had spent all of our time there. I'm ready to go back and definitely will!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aws70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2006

Very expensive, but was worth the price! Rooms combine comfort and luxury. Valley view is gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
6.7 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
6.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
15.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Soleil

Property: Auberge du Soleil
Address: 180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, CA 94573
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge du Soleil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Du Soleil is a prestigious luxury resort and spa with a world renowned restaurant nestled within 33 sunlit acres of Rutherford Hill in beautiful Napa Valley, California.• 50 Luxurious suites and rooms boasting unsurpassed views of the valley vineyards • Michelin-starred restaurant with bistro and bar overlooking the valley on wrap around decks • Award-winning luxury Spa • Exclusive pool with lounge• Fitness center, open-air movement studio, yoga pavilion and tennis courts• 5 stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events• A comprehensive art collection of outdoor sculpture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Auberge du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Soleil Rutherford, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing