We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS”
Review of HALL Rutherford

HALL Rutherford
Ranked #14 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: HALL Rutherford offers guests a truly world-class winery experience to include a tasting of HALL’s most regaled wines along with an intimate tour through the property and caves. The winery’s 14,000 square feet of caves were designed and built by hand by Friedrich Gruber of Gutenstein Austria. The caves are finished with handmade Austrian brick recovered from sites in and around Vienna and showcases select works from the Halls’ art collection. Deep inside the caves resides a dazzling reception area for private tastings and entertaining. The room’s spectacular chandelier, designed by Donald Lipski and Jonquil LeMaster, is dressed in hundreds of Swarovski crystals.
Marietta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My girlfriends and I had a private tour and tasting. The view is incredible. The tasting room was gorgeous. The tour was very informative and we were able to taste 4 wines. All of which we loved and ordered. This winery is one of very few that serve cheese and breadsticks with the tasting which helps to cleanse the palette. I would highly recommend this stop in Napa.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    14
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Tour and Tasting”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are Hall club members so we know this wine. This was our first visit to the Rutherford locations. A little had to find, and once you get there, fantastic views of the northern valley. The story behind the cave was great to hear and the tasting in the cave - with the chandelier was really cool. Reservations required.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
573 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“We all enjoyed it!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our group of 16 thoroughly enjoyed this experience. It was a casual, comfortable experience. Felt like we were in a friend's home, sampling their hospitable wines. Our guide was fine, the tour, entertaining and informative. Different from the Opus One tour, this seemed to be more of an art and grounds tour than a wine-making tour, which was a nice contrast for us.
Dinner in the cave dining room, under the stunning chandelier was a treat. Our food service was friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful but insincere”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hall Rutherford is certainly an experience to have. The grounds and views are beautiful. The tasting room simply spectacular. It would be a dream to celebrate a special occasion in their dining room with the grand sparkling chandelier. The wines are good - the Katheryn Hall is the best and worth the price, in my mind.

HOWEVER, the hospitality is over the top, rehearsed, and simply insincere. Our guide, Mark, comes across as a caricature or an actor rather than an expert guide and host. This would have been a far better 5 star experience had we had a different host. I was really tempted to give this 3 stars due to his style being so unbearable. The worst part, when we asked about his opinion of other wineries, he got a little disturbed -- especially when we asked about Jarvis. I would say Jarvis and Hall are the most spectacular wineries in Napa. Just as an aside, Opus One was relatively disappointing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoonlightRainSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HALL_Wines, Guest Relations Manager at HALL Rutherford, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit to HALL Rutherford. Our guest’s opinions are very important to us and we use the information provided to constantly improve. It is our goal to deliver unparalleled hospitality in a knowledgeable yet friendly manner. We have three principle wine educators; each with different personalities and passion about the wines and stories.
I am regretful your experience was not as you had hoped. It would be my pleasure to welcome you to the property again, as my guest, to revisit what we offer.

Laura Garrow, Manager
HALL | Rutherford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very underwhelmed”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hall was a real disappointment. If the rest of the trip felt just WOW this was very blah. They love their new building but I'm not sure that they care about their tasting room. One woman took care of six different tables. We waited 20 minutes between pours. Awful. It felt like the Walmart of wine tastings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HALL_Wines, General Manager at HALL Rutherford, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are so sorry we didn't meet your expectations. There are some growing pains at our new facility in St. Helena, and this kind of constructive criticism is invaluable. We'd love to invite you for a complimentary tour and tasting at our Rutherford property , to hopefully change your mind about HALL and redeem ourselves. Please contact me directly and we'll make it happen. Again, sincerest apologies.

Best,

Jocelyn Hoar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HALL Rutherford also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to HALL Rutherford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing