We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Atmosphere with Great Attentiveness”
Review of Alex Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Alex Italian Restaurant
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 29
Description: The food is delicious but no matter what we say your opinion is the most important Come Soon!
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cozy Atmosphere with Great Attentiveness”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The food is fresh and uniquely italian. Wonderful attention to detail with the food presentation. They have delicious italian dishes. The owner greeted his customers to ensure a wonderful experience. The chef provides a complimentary appetizer of his choice for the evening. Wonderful wine list. We will definitely go back. People dressed in jeans or you can put on your little black dress and feel like someone special there. It is down the road from the Rutherford Grill in Rutherford, California (Napa Valley).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    10
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a perfect dinner”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay at the Rancho Caymus and had a look at both, Rutherford Grill and Alex. In the end we liked the porch at Alex. And the food was just fabulous without this too-much of some Italian restaurants. Starting with the bread and the white bean mousse to the excellent starters, great pasta (gnocchi al burro were eaten by our seven year old in 10 min) to an excellent filet with tasteful vegetables just matching. We had only open glass of wine, but both the white and the red were great. Friendly and attentive service. Always again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I want to like this place so back”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I want to like this place and not allow mean Michael Chiarello be known as the best Italian (Bottega and Tra Vigne)-I want this couple to succeed. They are both from Italy, accents and all, family run and the wife is especially nice, the husband (tries to) seat or greet everyone himself.

Great Service!!! BUT, the food-very, very expensive and I am okay with the small portions but only as long as the food is perfect, which it is not. It's not flavorful enough, one of our pasti was dry, although good flavor.

It was my second time but before I give them another chance, I will have to hear that they have improved.

To the owners-either lower your prices a lot and make it a place that is more affordable and make it on volume OR get a better chef and/or make tastier food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Annual "Best Bet"”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We dined at Alex last year and were pleasantly surprised. So, we elected to see if the excellence would be maintained this year. Tonight's experience was very, very good! The four of us decided to eat light, enjoying soups, salads and the BEST Wild Mushroom pasta that i had ever enjoyed. The table service was really World Class and the wine list was carefully selected. Alex and his charming wife came by to say "Welcome Back", a classy touch.

Whenever your palate calls for True Italian, choose Alex. It will become your "Best Bet", just as it has become ours!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesLara7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unknown Gem in the middle of the Napa Valley”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

An elegant, intimate dining experience awaits those willing to venture a block off the beaten trail. What a find one block off Rte 29 in Rutherford! A small intimate dining room with stately fireplace, comfortable elegant table seating; just right for a dinner with that someone special, an important customer, your boss or anyone else that enjoys fine dining. Not really a place for families with small children. Food is top notch Italian fine dining, pasta course is just that (a second app) and priced accordingly. Do have three courses as intended plus dessert and you will have a great, fulfilling meal. A bit pricey, but well below peer elegant dining. Service is impeccable. Corkage is a mere $20 that is waived with the purchase of a bottle. Wine list is impressive. Only drawback, no spirits (wine and beer only). But a great selection of dessert wines and ports. Do yourself and your loved one a favor, give this one a try. We are locals and will be back for that special meal when we don't want to spend a mint!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alex Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing