We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced and waste of our time.”

Swanson Vineyards Salon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over-priced and waste of our time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

It was advertised as a food and wine pairing. The food consisted of a single potato chop (yes 1 chip) with a topping, a small taste of cheese and two crackers, and one tiny piece oh chocolate. The price was 65$. The hostess blathered on as if talking a lot could make up for the pitiful amount of food. It took 1 1/2 hours and ended up wasting one of our afternoons on our weekend getaway

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kschoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stop #4 of 4 - worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Mindy was a great host of our group of 10. This is not a tour as much as a tasting. We got to sit outside and were well taken care of with a great selection & presentation of a variety of Swanson's fine wines. One must have purchase is their Merlot soaked chocolate bark. Place is small and quaint great for small groups.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good wine, not sure we'd pick the Salon again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a beautiful spot, grounds are lovely, Salon is funky and the wines are very good. We were looking for a little more than just a wine tasting and while there was food and wine this wasn't what we had expected. We were given a small plate of a few cheeses, nuts and some crackers. The second wine came with a small plate with a caviar topped potato chip, which went beautifully with the wine....we thought we were in for a treat---but this was the only wine that was actually "paired" with a specific food. The hostess did suggest certain cheese with some of the wines, but said all would go well. We were expecting a little more and overall were a little disappointed. Our table-mates were wonderful and the hostess was very knowledgeable. We ended up buying a few bottles of wine, but if we had it to do over we'd save the $40 and stand next door at the Sip Shoppe.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very relaxed and refined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

If you tire of standing at a bar with wine taste after taste quickly poured for you with a short repeated descriptive phrase of explanation over and over...then try the salon experience. Or just try it to begin with. Sit at a lovely table with other guests who become your instant friends. Hear fun stories about the Swanson family. Have wine tasting expertly paired with food choices to really bring out their character. It's so worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elegant salon wine tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Sat in a beautiful salon with 8 other people and did wine tasting with food pairings. We felt very special and the wines were excellent. A very unhurried atmosphere. A great beginning to our trip to Napa.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mischka62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swanson Vineyards Salon also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Swanson Vineyards Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing