We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Salon Tasting was Exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swanson Vineyards Salon

Swanson Vineyards Salon
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Salon Tasting was Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Salon Tasting was perfect in so many ways. A table of 8 in a beautifully decorated private salon, tasting various wines with cheeses, caviar, nuts and chocolate was a wonderful way to spend the afternoon. The fee was $65 per person but if you are really interested in fine wines don't cheap out on the Sip Shop. This was an experience seldom available to travelers. We purchased a case of various reds to be shipped to Florida in October. I will go back next time we are in Napa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Tasting at Swanson was a great experience. The decor was imaginitive and the wine was excellent, especially paired with their special chocolate.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kedwards116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great decor, average wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The main thing to see at Swanson is their Sip Shoppe, where we did our wine tasting. It's decorated in their version of Mardi Gras--very lively and fun. They do offer a private tasting in their foyer which looked amazing, but our group was too large.

Overall, I was not impressed with the wine. Our hostess must have told us they were a "luxury wine" 5 times--which to me seemed like they were trying to become a luxury wine but not quite there yet. None of the wines stood out to us. What did stand out was their chocolate bars. We had the toffee crunch and the curry chocolate, and the curry chocolate was an explosion of flavor, with very polarizing reactions from our group, but we loved it.

Overall, I wouldn't make it a point to stop here on a wine tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fletchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wine nirvana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stumbled across Swanson a number of years ago when dining at the Napa Grill in Napa, CA. We have been members of their wine club since then. Our love is red and the Sangiovese and Alexis Cab are outstanding with the Merlot a close second. The Chardonay also can hold its own to say the least.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great outdoor tasting environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We did the normal "30-minute" tasting. The tasting are held outside in the entryway which was very nice. Our group of 8 had a nice picnic table where we were able to relax and chat instead of being hounded over by servers.

With that being said, there could have been a bit more attentiveness by the waitstaff as we were constantly finishing our drinks and then looking around for our next round. The 30-minute tasting ended up dragging to almost an hour-long tasting which normally wouldn't be a problem but we had sort of planned around this visit being a bit more prompt. Not necessarily their fault: in the future I'd plan on giving us more time at this location as we really liked the wine and the wives loved the Sip Shoppe. I highly recommend including this on your list of spots to hit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swanson Vineyards Salon also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Swanson Vineyards Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing