We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had an excellent one-night stay at the Citizen. The building is wonderful -- an old place with a nice inside stairway (it's nice to be able to run down one flight without going to a dank, miserable stairwell) -- and the rooms are large and modern. Staff were friendly and helpful. Located only a couple blocks from the capitol so it's easy to walk over and look around or do business.

The only drawback was the room service menu. Room service utilizes the rather fancy Grange restaurant, located in the hotel, which is fine if you want a steak. But the vegetarian options were very limited and everything is pricey.

Room Tip: If you reserve on line you can request a cheap upgrade -- we got a suite for $9 when we checked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Great location, great rooms, great restaurant...great, great, great!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Capital Building for great view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sastoneesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a lovely boutique hotel. Love the legal/political themes. Staff was pleasant and very helpful. There are a number of homeless folks around the location. But the hotel is worth overlooking them.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel review only.

Very short stay arriving at 7pm and departing next day at 11am.
Pros:
-Clean
-Comfy bed
-Modern
-Great in room products
-Friendly valet service

Cons:
-Room 534, sun shines directly into the room at sunset and the room was ROASTING. We had the air on full blast and it was incredibly warm. If we were staying longer I would have asked for a different room.
-For being so new, very dirty hall carpeting
-$$$ for valet overnight parking.

I would stay again though - great special occassion hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_DINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel is a welcome addition to downtown Sacrameto. I stayed in a room with two beds on the 13 floor. The bedroom itself was small, but the bathroom was immense!! I loved that there was a window in the bathroom. The decorations were very stylized and well thought out. Everything in the room was clean and I felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 916FoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The Citizen Hotel is a completely remodeled historic office building in downtown Sacramento, and they did a wonderful job of both preserving and modernizing. The Grange restaurant is excellent, a fine dining locavore place with creative and tasty dinners. The breakfast there was ok, pretty boring and standard, definitely not up to the quality of the dinners. Our room was a spacious 2 room jr suite, and upgrade because they had one available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with places to sit besides the bed and desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottagetgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My love of political history and U.S. geography has inspired me to visit 48 of our 50 state capitals (meaning the city itself) and capitols (the building that often, though not always, has a dome.) I’ve stayed overnight in many of these cities, with mixed results. Some are too small to support much more than a Days Inn, while others are positioned to have at least one nice, stylish hotel … but don’t. Luckily for Sacramento, a real treasure is in town.

The Joie de Vivre chain took a historic office building located just blocks from the capitol, completely gutted it and made it into an appealing and modern hotel. I’ve seen this done in other cities; some good (the Colcord in Oklahoma City) and some not as good (the Sheraton in Columbia, SC). Sacramento’s Citizen is pretty darn great.

I followed the advice of other TripAdvisor reviewers and booked a junior suite—as opposed to a regular guest room—for not much more money. Truth be told, while it was a very comfortable size for two people, it was not much bigger than most standard rooms. I guess this means, then, that the Citizen’s base-level rooms are as small as many reviewers have indicated.

As for the base price, it’s similar to your run-of-the-mill Hamptons and Courtyards. But at the Citizen, be prepared for the $25 valet parking charge and the $9.95 (per device, not per room) Internet charge. So it’s not exactly cheap, but it’s worth it.

The décor is lovely, the lobby is grand, the location is great. Others have indicated, rightly so, that Cesar Chavez Park, directly across the street from the front entrance, is home for many homeless. But from the hotel to the Capitol is fine; and there are a bunch of great restaurants on the streets in the Capitol vicinity. The Grange restaurant, part of the hotel, is fantastic.

I will give the hotel a ding for small fitness center with cheap equipment jammed inside.

But I would stay there again in a minute. Best of all to me is the hotel’s tributes to all that’s good, bad and ugly about the political process. The collection of political cartoons and photos is fascinating to me. And California’s colorful political heritage certainly provides a lot of material with which to work.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £97 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing