We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, cute hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly, cute hotel.”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Very friendly, cute hotel. Used the hotel for business travel. Guests rooms and conference space. Definitely, we will use this location again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conferenceguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    264
    79
    30
    18
See reviews for
96
240
51
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I typically stay at the Hyatt when visiting Sacramento but we wanted to try something different. We booked at The Citizen and very happy we did. Our visit was for a special occasion to gather with family. I sent a message to the GM to see if it would be possible to get a high floor with a view and explained this was a special event (15 year anniversary). I received a prompt response from the GM telling me that he had taken care of everything and they were looking forward to our arrival. Nice! :-)

Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly door staff that made our check in and car valet a breeze. Within a few minutes we were in our room, and what a great room! The GM had booked us into a high floor with a view as requested and the room was very clean and comfortable.

The neighborhood has a Starbucks and it is very easy to walk to the Capital as well, which was nice since we had our little dog with us. The park in front of the hotel does have some homeless issues, but what city doesn't in this current economy?! Sacramento has always seemed to have an odd mix of suits & homeless mingling together in harmony on the sidewalks. We felt safe and had no issues walking around the neighborhood. Additionally the door staff are so pleasant and welcoming, making it that much more pleasant.

We are very happy that we have found The Citizen and will certainly stay with them again next time we have reason to visit to Sacramento. Excellent staff, wonderful comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Joseph R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. The team always loves to hear when our guests have a great experience and I appreciate and I look forward to sharing this with them. If you are a coffee fan there are 2 outstanding local coffee houses in teh neighborhood as well. Temple at 9th and J street is a Sacramento institution and Broadacre Coffee next to the hotel on 10th street is getting rave reviews.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return

Mark Mathews
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I travel to Sacramento most weeks for business and am privileged to stay at the Citizen Hotel. I love the combination of old, beautifully restored architecture and modern comfortable rooms. More important, every single person who works at the Citizen (in a range of roles) consistently goes above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. They greet me like family, smile with real warmth and connection, stash my bike, recommend bike paths, remember and prioritize the room features I prefer, immediately fix their rare glitches and respond patiently and supportively to my more frequent ones. I feel so lucky to be able to stay there and to interact with these fabulous indivduals!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Ms. Lee

Yhank you for making the Citizen your home away from home. I know your business requires you to visit Sacramento almost weekly and we really appreciate you choosing The Citizen Hotel as your home base. As always we look forward to your next visit!

Mark Mathews
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great place to stay. Room was very clean, great view of downtown Sacramento, and staff was great. I would recommend this place to anyone. One of the nice touches in the hotel was all of the political cartoons and sayings around the hotel, very funny. I would say the only thing we found wrong with the hotel was the noise from the streets of downtown, just ask for a room on one of the higher floors.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors, much quieter from all of the noise from downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank hiimkat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I loved the Citizen Hotel. I will not stay anywhere else in Sacramento. The location is perfect. There are lots of places to eat, drink and hang out nearby. I had a view of the Capital out my bathroom window and the place just oozes old school sophistication and charm. It was quiet in the room depite being right in thr center of everything and all of the staff were pleasant and helpful. Also, the bed and bedding was excellent. I definitely recommend the Citizen.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaynaB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Nevada_Travelers,

Thanks for the great reveiw and for making The Citizen your hotel of choice when visiting Sacramento. We really appreciate your business!

Mark Mathews
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed one night here in the business district of California's capitol city. The hotel has wonderful service from the moment you step out of your car. Valet parking is only $5 more than parking yourself and you have unlimited check in/out of parking with no add'l fees. The check in desk is located in a very cool looking "library" and I felt like a NYC tourist inside this building checking out all the details of each room and floor and reading the quotes in the elevator. Our guest room was on the 13th floor (not scary) and roomy. Two beds were very nice and comfortable but this is where I gave one less star because I have a thing about fabric headboards in a public hotel, though clean, just not my thing. The bathroom was awesome (especially for two women sharing a room) two sinks on a large marble slab with plenty of room for all our "stuff". A real hair dryer is provided, not one of those in wall ones that sucks your hair in from both sides. The fridge was stocked with auto payment feature (would have liked a space for my left overs or my own personal waterbottle but not that big a deal for one night). Coffee maker and nice soaps, provided robes too. Internet (with keyboard) and movies are available on the tv for a daily charge so we did not use that but if you are travelling with kids you can access your Netflix streaming from there fyi. The restaurant "The Grange" was very good, cool ambiance and the waitstaff was very friendly, helpful and entertaining. The food was perfect and we ended up eating more than we planned and liked it! We were even able to enjoy another glass of wine and take it up to the room with us no fuss.
Getting a cab out front was easy and not far from Old Town Sacramento (touristy) and walking distance to a mall (but not the best one around). The capital building is very close too. Most mom and pop places in this area are closed on the weekends, this area is more happening on the weekdays fyi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikingbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citizenmanagement, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear hikingbee,

Thanks so much for staying with us and completing a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. The 13th floor is typically a great floor for female travelers due to the size and natural light in the bathrooms. On your next visit check out Midtown, only a short walk away. That area is more active on weekends and during the evening.

Mark Mathews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Boutique hotel in a 1920's building downtown, beautifully redone, clean comfortable room with very tall ceilings made the room feel much bigger. Felt very upscale and friendly, very attentive staff. I liked that it wasn't a chain, great restaurant in hotel. No spa or pool, but I wasn't interested in either.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PineTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing