We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room was ok, the grange restaurant was delish!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“room was ok, the grange restaurant was delish!!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

the room looked good, but at the same time appeared to be kind of cheaply adorned - "expensive looking but not really". the toiletries were yummy smelling. the bed was very comfortable. we had a very long drink/dinner at The Grange, the restaurant in the hotel, and this made the stay great. The service was amazing, the drinks were made to flavor-profile requests, and the food was very tasty. We only stayed one night but it did seem like the cost was appropriate for the services/amenities.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    296
    85
    30
    21
See reviews for
112
255
56
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I've stayed at The Citizen several times, it's so beautiful and the staff is friendly and knowledgable. The bell staff is ready with your bags, but if you prefer to carry your own, they never give an attitude. At the front desk, each person is helpful with directions to local places to go and will help with reservations when needed.
Whether for a business trip or a romantic getaway, The Citizen is the perfect choice!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Excellent service all around for our short stay here. Restaurant is great as well. Will definitely stay her again on our next Sacramento trip. There was some nightlife noise on a Friday night, but nothing to complain about.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

First time I have ever been asked to wait 3 hours to check into my room. Seems like if ur not part of a wedding party they could care less about u! Never coming back again! Plus in the middle of skid row!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarkin, General Manager at The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dgizz,

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I would love to be able to follow up with you regarding the delay in checking in to the hotel. Our goal is for each and every guest of the hotel, regardless if they are with a group or traveling on their own to have the best stay possible. We are proud of our customer service and I am disappointed that we let you down. In order for me to be able to see exactly what caused the delay, please reach out to me so that I can review your reservation at blarkin@jdvhotels.com

Thank you again.

Brent Larkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently for four nights and were very impressed with this grand old style boutique hotel.
The service was wonderful. A staff member asked in passing one day how everything was. We mentioned a small issue and within minutes an engineer came up and problem solved! Very attentive. The hotel restaurant had some different gourmet type food, as well as simple meals ...and a great bar. We attended some pre and post wedding events here as well and the facilities and food were both top-notch. We found things to do in Sacramento within walking distance from here also...a lilltle longer walk.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rudy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed here on a business trip to Sacramento recently. The location of the hotel is in a mixed area. If you pull up front they will charge you $25 to valet your car overnight. If you drive half a block on the side of the park you can park overnight in a garage for $10. Check in was very easy and they were having a cocktail night in the Hotel Bar, so the the desk clerk was nice and gave me a room on the other side of the hotel with a nice view of the Capital Building. The hotel is politically oriented so that was nice for a change from the standard hotel. The lobby is filled with law books and the elevators have quotes from politicians in them. I forgot a tube of toothpaste and a gentleman brought up a complimentary tube within a minute. They have soft fluffy robes and the bed was amazing. There's also a number of nice restaurants within walking distance. It's good for a break from chain hotels, even thought it is a small chain of bouutique hotels of that makes sense. It has good character in an upscale way.

Room Tip: If it's a busy night at the bar downstairs and you want to sleep request a room on the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I just came back from sacramento where I stayed 2 nights at the citizen hotel. I had a delux king suite. I was not use to a boutique hotel, so maybe I was expecting too much, but coming from the east, i was a bit dissapointed in the lack of ammenities. The fact that everything cost was a bit discouraging as well. I never ate or had a meal there because of the prices. The size of the room was a issue as well. I went there to visit some friends and 3 normal size adults could not comfortably be in there to talk. I would stay there only if business is your agenda... If it's pleasure, this is not the spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornell4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing