We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed for 1 night on our way to Lake Tahoe. The staff were very welcoming. Our room was lovely with lots of character, great views and a decent coffee machine! The location was very convenient for walking round the centre of Sacramento. The town itself was very quiet, maybe because we stayed on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    275
    79
    30
    18
See reviews for
102
243
53
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I travel pretty frequently and I feel like this was our best hotel experience in three or four years. From the staff, to the decor to the bathroom toiletries, everything was just wonderful. I can easily see why there were five weddings happening there over our 48-hour stay! The quality easily stands up to places like San Francisco's Mark Hopkins and at 1/3 of the price. I'd recommend the Citizen to anyone visiting Sacramento. I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NetDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The South
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

He says: We stayed at The Citizen on the last night of our California vacation this week. I am so glad we did. The hotel was beautiful from lobby to 14th floor. Very fast parking and check-in. Every member of the staff was very polite and professional. Weary from our travels we decided on having dinner in our room. The steak was the best I had on the trip. The hotel sent complimentary champagne to our room after finding out it was our anniversary. Every time we spoke with a staff member they told us Happy Anniversary or Congrats and asked if we needed anything at all to make our stay more enjoyable. The room was wonderful. The view from the 14th floor is great. The spa tub and big comfy bed was a good way to prep for a day of sitting in an airplane. Hats off the The Citizen and it's staff!
She says: TBA

Room Tip: Our corner room of the 14th floor was silent and very spacious. Spa tub, full bar and plenty of sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workingonmyrewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. This hotel was very nicely decorated and the location was great. I booked a King Jnr suite for a good price through Expedia and was not disappointed. The room was large and beautifully furnished, with lovely views out of several windows. There was a desk and a couple of nice chairs, as well as a decent size wardrobe and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was lovely but the nice big shower head was not compatible with the wooden Venetian blinds which weren't recessed into the bathroom window. This meant they got saturated when I had a shower and they must have been a pain to clean and dry for the housekeepers. It just felt like a weird set up in a shower but certainly wasn't a total downer for my stay. The restaurant was lovely and I had a huge serve of pancakes for brekky. Valet parking was a reasonable option but street parking was okay for overnight without any cost. Just be aware of feeding the meter in the morning - was about $1 odd for an hour right near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeejayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at The Citizen this weekend to attend a wedding. Access to the hotel is easy and valet parking is very attentive. Check-in is rapid and easy. Room was very nice with all the amenities and very clean. Bed was excellent. Only complaints were there was no real hot water at 5 PM or 9 AM…..bad times to take a shower……and charge for internet ($10 for 24 hours) only covered one device!!! Breakfast was good but a little expensive. Would recommend highly for 1-2 nights stay while attending an activity or business in Sacramento.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor…..only problem on the weekend, were people returing from weddings at 4 A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

the room looked good, but at the same time appeared to be kind of cheaply adorned - "expensive looking but not really". the toiletries were yummy smelling. the bed was very comfortable. we had a very long drink/dinner at The Grange, the restaurant in the hotel, and this made the stay great. The service was amazing, the drinks were made to flavor-profile requests, and the food was very tasty. We only stayed one night but it did seem like the cost was appropriate for the services/amenities.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I've stayed at The Citizen several times, it's so beautiful and the staff is friendly and knowledgable. The bell staff is ready with your bags, but if you prefer to carry your own, they never give an attitude. At the front desk, each person is helpful with directions to local places to go and will help with reservations when needed.
Whether for a business trip or a romantic getaway, The Citizen is the perfect choice!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing