We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Citizen is charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Citizen has a charming lobby and the rooms are quite nice. We found the bed to be very comfortable - and we had a lovely view (the Cathedral -- and the Capitol if you tilt your head a bit). The events in the hotel were fairly noisy but there were some quiet pockets. Definitely a charming choice if you have a reason to be in this part of downtown Sac (the neighborhood's a little dodgey).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmh123ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Citizen exudes charm and character but think twice if you value a good night's sleep. The hotel is flanked by several night spots (loud through 2am) and get this, there are rooms right above their own party room, where you'll experience the music first-hand without leaving your room, including the thumping vibrations of music. Horrible experience. There are some 'quieter' locations within the building but none are truly quiet. Go for it if you're a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed two nights (Saturday and Sunday) at this lovely older hotel. The room was beautiful and comfortable and we thought the hotel was lovely. We would agree with an earlier reviewer that downtown Sacramento is dead during the weekend and evening and we felt a little vulnerable walking and were approached by a lot of homeless people. There are very few places open to eat and we even resorted to food at the 7-11 Sunday night. The Grange looked wonderful, but wasn't open as late as we needed. There was a terrific middle eastern place (Darna) around the corner which we recommend and the little coffee shop right next door was open long hours and the staff person was very gracious. Our bathroom wasn't very large (other rooms had bigger bathrooms with a separate mirrored area) and it didn't have a bath, but it was still nice. We would recommend it for it's charm, comfortable beds and a quiet stay (we didn't notice noise from the clubs a block away - but noted the bathroom contained ear plugs.). We would stay there again -- even though the area around it can be sketchy at night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningaround_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is now part of the Joie de Vivre chain and it fits their image well. It is an older property but well maintained and has some charm to it. Quick one night business stay was comfortable. Opening windows (a special feature these days, even if it is only a few inches!), decent cup of in room coffee, and original room design are all pluses in an era of corporate cookie-cutter hotels. I'll return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCLASteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

lovely room, comfy bed, easy parking, restaurant in lobby, rich history (lobby is full of old books and reading chairs), really enjoyed our stay.

We were only there one night but really enjoyed the room. good amenities and very swank bathroom. Nice robes too. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I have just stayed at the Citizen for a week on a business trip. Great corner room on the 11th floor with excellent views of the city. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious.

All in all, a great stay. Too bad that downtown Sac gets really deserted at night and that still many business remain closed... :-(

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank grungtheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Although the decor is exquisite and beds are comfy, the service is absolutely LOUSY when it comes to meeting any individual requests or in a timely manner (if at all). Space is cramped, and the walls are paper thin for neighboring rooms and conferences/large scale events can be heard FLOORS above where the noise actually takes place. I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Sawyer Hotel
Kimpton Sawyer Hotel
#23 of 82 in Sacramento
30 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: £109 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing