We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swanky hotel, loved it! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Swanky hotel, loved it! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious and comfy. There's a photo booth in the lobby, and we played a round of chess. Restaurant next door which is convenient. I love the interior design of the lobby, and our room- so glam, glam! The staff is friendly and easy going.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank isis1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    259
    77
    30
    18
See reviews for
95
239
51
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went to the Belda wedding at this hotel last Friday night and had a wonderful time.The dinner decor was beautiful and the view at night from the 7th floor was breathtaking! The hotel is very pretty and the service is impeccable. I want to give special thanks to Sarah as she was exceptional as our server. My husband doesn't like mushrooms and we were told that the ravioli's were mushroom. Sarah went above and beyond to talk to the kitchen and get my husband something else for dinner. She finally found out that the ravioli's were sun-dried tomato and that was great with him. The food was wonderful. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

A brilliant hotel with gorgeous interiors, a historic hotel that oozes charm and style. Kandra Scott was the interior designer, who also did Portland's Governor Hotel, and she just nailed the beautiful check in library "experience", and the historic character follows throughout the hotel, and rooms. Be sure to walk around and experience all the nooks and crannies. It's worth the upgrade to the top floor, for sure... it's still a fair price, and it's a wonderfully different experience than the box / corporate hotels. The staff are all wonderful, helpful, and polite. It was a lovely experience...

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 14th floor for a suite - it's a nominal different in price, but will give you mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The valet staff was exceptionally friendly and very efficient. The hotel has great old style architecture. The rooms are spacious and clean. Great sized bathroom and comfortable beds. There was a party going in so it was a little noisy but not too bad. We are very happy we stayed here.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel and extremely comfortable bed. Very charming and great staff. The only draw back is the 7th floor night club. The guests stand in the landing and talk really loud and it carries to the 6th floor. I would certainly come back, just go to a different room.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Citizen has a charming lobby and the rooms are quite nice. We found the bed to be very comfortable - and we had a lovely view (the Cathedral -- and the Capitol if you tilt your head a bit). The events in the hotel were fairly noisy but there were some quiet pockets. Definitely a charming choice if you have a reason to be in this part of downtown Sac (the neighborhood's a little dodgey).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmh123ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Citizen exudes charm and character but think twice if you value a good night's sleep. The hotel is flanked by several night spots (loud through 2am) and get this, there are rooms right above their own party room, where you'll experience the music first-hand without leaving your room, including the thumping vibrations of music. Horrible experience. There are some 'quieter' locations within the building but none are truly quiet. Go for it if you're a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing