We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality & Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
1 review
“Quality & Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Great location and fun restaurant. Rooms are nicely appointed and some have great views. Helpful staff. Check out bar on second floor. Enjoyed every part of the trip. Bathroom had a view of the Capitol and lobby was really unique. Best hotel in downtown sacramento. Small enough to have character and large enough to allow multiple rooms for visitors. Would recommend for any visit to SACTO especially if you have business downtown or family in east sac or land park. Don't waste time at Hyatt or Sheraton.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    259
    77
    30
    18
See reviews for
95
239
51
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel has outstanding architecture and is so well remodeled. It has the look and feel of old Sacramento. The walls throughout the hotel are covered with older editorial cartoons from the area and add to the charm of this hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel is excellent as well and provides the room service. The rooms are quirky sizes due to the age of the building but all of them are well appointed. This is our go to hotel in Sacramento.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Charm and an old fashion style are evident here. We had a corner room with plenty of space. The restaurant in the hotel is first rate. Since I'm a a Joy of Life member, there was even a bottle of wine waiting in our room. Our only concern was the parking; our car came back very dusty.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

For a weekend in Sacramento, this hotel provided the perfect location. Comfortable spacious room with lots of windows and a view of the California State Capitol Dome. Lots of political references and humor throughout. Looks like a nice place for a small gathering - party-meeting. Attached restaurant was a plus - delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Request to be off the main street which might be noisy during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsSF2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I tried to book a room at the Citizen Hotel because it looked like a great place to stay. I was put on hold with the reservations agent for a LONG period of time, and was cut off three times. While I was waiting to speak to an agent, a recording with the advertisement for the hotel repeated over and over and over. It was so obnoxious that I couldn't even stand it on speaker. I've rarely had a worse experience trying to make a reservation and would suggest at a minimum that the Hotel get rid of that awful recording if they are going to keep people on hold. Once I finally reached a reservation agent, she was very good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious and comfy. There's a photo booth in the lobby, and we played a round of chess. Restaurant next door which is convenient. I love the interior design of the lobby, and our room- so glam, glam! The staff is friendly and easy going.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank isis1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went to the Belda wedding at this hotel last Friday night and had a wonderful time.The dinner decor was beautiful and the view at night from the 7th floor was breathtaking! The hotel is very pretty and the service is impeccable. I want to give special thanks to Sarah as she was exceptional as our server. My husband doesn't like mushrooms and we were told that the ravioli's were mushroom. Sarah went above and beyond to talk to the kitchen and get my husband something else for dinner. She finally found out that the ravioli's were sun-dried tomato and that was great with him. The food was wonderful. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing