We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Rooms, Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Rooms, Nice Staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Overall this was nice place to stay, however the very noisy wedding on the outdoor terrace blaring horrible DJ remixes grew very old after the first two or three hours. The only saving grace was that the front staff told me at check in it would be done at 11. At 11 on the nose the music (thankfully) stopped.

The restaurant/bar had very excellent (and very expensive) drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otterrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    275
    79
    30
    18
See reviews for
102
243
53
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My fiance and I attended a wedding here and we were part of a room block. We were impressed with our stay overall especially for the rate we paid. The front desk was very friendly and the door guys out front always welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area. We also loved the location. Walking distance to many restaurants/bars and all the other touristy stuff in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice hotel with a great staff, very clean, room up to date, staff are wonderful, the only reason I did not give 5 stars is because of the dinning room the grange, the food is average at best but very pricy, I would stay at the hotel again but I would not eat at the grange.

Room Tip: Join their club and you get free internet and a bottle of wine in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently spent a weekend here, and was generally quite happy with my decision. The hotel itself is located right in the heart of downtown Sacramento, which is great for some on foot exploring of the old town and getting to bars and restaurants. The restaurant within the hotel (Grange) is also a really good bet - the eggs benedict are something special for breakfast/brunch.

The ambience is really enjoyable, with the hotel harking back to the grand old days - from the library (with playable chessboard) themed reception area, to the detailed rooms themselves replete with catch phrases and political cartoons around the them of government (The Citizen...get it now?).

My room was the standard one, and was comfortable and well sized. Again, the decor was impeccable, and there was space to set up a laptop and do some work. I did notice some noise from a nightclub outside at street level (I was 10th floor), but nothing that kept me up - I suppose if you're a VERY light sleeper it might've bothered you.

Overall, a whistle stop visit to Sacramento, so I can't give an opinion in relation to other hotels in the city, but I've stayed in a lot of hotels all over the place and this is one of the good ones. If you're in town and unsure where to book, I'd recommend The Citizen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here overnight for a wedding, and I have to say this is a plush and upgraded hotel, as you would expect from a Joie de vivre hotel. The check-in staff were polite and super helpful with my questions. The rooms were small but comfortable. The wedding venue was impressive, lots of windows to make it felt airy and open.

The only negatives were that there was a bar or club across the street from our room, so we heard the music bumping in the night. Also, the valet was expensive and a bit confusing. We came at busy time and I doubled parked because the drop off zone was packed with cars. I stood around looking puzzled for a couple of minutes trying to get the valet's attention, wondering how come no one is helping me. He finally told me that they could only take cars pulled over in the white zone. Thanks for telling me now. I had to drive around until the drop off zone was clear, but by that time I just parked a block away, fed the meter until it was 6pm and had free parking until the next day. Saved some money overall.

I would definitely stay here again, but I would plan my parking strategy better next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eshia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a great stay there for my wedding weekend with all of my bridesmaids and family. My now husband stayed there as well with all of his groomsmen. The staff was great, hotel was very clean, and beds were extremely comfortable! Getting ready in a 1 bedroom suite was great for 6 girls and the walls and decorations were awesome for pictures! We loved staying there for our special day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed at The Citizen multiple times, which says a lot on its own because I never stay the same place twice. I absolutely love it. It's in a great location. It's a 2 minute walk from K street, which has bars places to eat like Pizza Rock, there are night clubs.... Ect. Also it's within walking distance from the Westfield mall.
I've never had an issue staying here, the staff is friendly and helpful. When they have events you might here some noise (weddings) but it's quiet by 10 and you get no noise from the K street activity.
It's a great place to stay. I stay relaxing as soon as the valet takes my car. The bed is comfy, big pillows, not a lot of noise outside door.
Also very easy to get to from highway.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMay08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing