We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid wedding noise, and you'll be fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid wedding noise, and you'll be fine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel. It is unfortunate that it gets so many bad reviews because of the noise. I asked at the front desk about that, and they were very clear: Some rooms are noisy, because they are directly above the bar area and the reception area for the weddings. They gave me a room far from that, on an upper floor, and is was very quiet.

The hotel is charming. It is the opposite of the corporate, generic hotels that populate the rest of the city. I enjoyed my stay here thoroughly, and the staff was VERY friendly and professional.

I work with musicians who perform regularly at the Crest theater, which is right around the corner in a very easy walking distance from this hotel. Perfect location for attending a show there.

Room Tip: If you are not with one of the wedding groups, ask for a room in the quiet part of the hotel, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBerkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    259
    77
    30
    18
See reviews for
95
239
51
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My experience at the Citizen Hotel was a good one. The room service staff were excellent and I enjoyed getting a $5 food/beverage voucher for each night that I didn't have the room cleaned! I put those to good use in the restaurant downstairs. The staff were always smiling and friendly and helped out with requests in any way they could. The convention center was in easy walking distance and the hotel is located in an area that felt safe. I did not experience any of the noise issues that others have reported in the reviews, so that must depend on room location. I paid for the "faster" internet, which was probably a waste of money, so just opt for the slower, cheaper option. Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend it to others. Oh, they do allow dogs which I found adorable but could concern someone with an allergy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Heritage hotel, rennovated and well-maintained; lots of special touches associated with the period it was originally built. Great staff in all departments, knowledgable, friendly, quickly responded to any requests (eg, extra hangers, non-feather pillows, etc). Well-located, just 3 blocks from convention center, bus and taxi rank in same block. The Grange restaurant, on the hotel property, has a gourmet menu, great ambience; it also provides the room service to the Hotel for very reasonable prices. Our room, on the 12th floor, facing the City Hall, was quiet, spacious, just fine (not often do I get a huge bathroom with 3 large wood-frame windows). The only downside to my 6-day stay was the internet and in-room wi-fi. Apparently their provider was doing some updating, and there were "problems" that caused it to go down often and without warning--however, when it came time for me to check-out, the daily charges were removed from my bill, for which I am thankful. All-in-all, a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms high and on the back side of the hotel may be quieter from the usual city street noise and nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savanna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'm visiting Sacramento for work and chose to stay at The Citizen Hotel instead of the normal Sheratons and Hyatts as I prefer less of a chain feel with hotels. I cannot fault the service from the staff. Absolutely second to none. The room (I had a corner room on 5th floor) was absolutely adequate in size and I loved the fact that I had views from two angles of the city being in the corner. The bed is amazing! The cushions are to die for.

So everything has been good, but the big problem if you're travelling for business is the absolutely DIRE Internet connection. Not only does this hotel charge $10/24 hours, which mostly nowadays you get for free, the connection is appalling. The speed is slower than my old dial-up 10 years ago and very unstable. If you're paying that much, you don't expect to have the network crash on a regular basis.

If this hotel can get themselves sorted with the Internet connection, it will be a proper 4/5. I'd say it's 3.5/5 at the moment.

Room Tip: Corner rooms like 534, 634 etc. Quiet and a bit more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

There are a number of things I enjoyed about this hotel, but I will try to be brief. First off was its location. I was able to catch a bus right in front of the airport that left me within feet of the entrance to the hotel. The bus was $2 and took the exact same route any cab would have. Just like that I saved over $35. Next was the assistance with check-in. The staff was extremely friendly and conversational. My room wasn't ready as I had arrived around noon, but I was able to leave my bags securely in a room. When i returned my room was ready and since I had joined the Joy club I was greeted with a bottle of wine on ice. The room was very spacious, beds were super comfy and the cleaning every day was great. I liked the fact that they gave you the option of keeping your sheets so as to conserve water.

I was here for a conference and the food we had catered for us was delicious. Don't tell them, but I also grabbed a few extra bags of Mighty Leaf tea's! All in all the service was spectacular, given the conference I attended we has a special rate that made this a knock-out choice. Should I visit Sacramento again I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good bed, well decorated small rooms. Only downside was slow expensive internet wifi in room. Good restaurant for breakfast each morning. My 5th floor room did not have a noise problem as others have mentioned in their reviews.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PurpleTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The service was great, the parking required either a long walk or valet which worried me. The entire hotel as well as the room had so much character with such a story to tell behind it. The breakfast at the restaurant was the best omelet I have ever had in my life!!! The room was very clean and classy with crazy tall ceilings, and the bed was very comfortable. I accidentally booked the wrong date for our stay on Expedia which states that there are no refunds, the hotel clerk at the front desk took the time to talk to Expedia about my mistake, had them issue a refund(even though they were not required to) and also book me a new room. The customer service and atmosphere is outstanding, I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing