We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of character, good staff, but some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Turlock, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lots of character, good staff, but some flaws”
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The decor of the Citizen is very nice, with old law books and old political cartoons. The room definitely had character; it didn't feel like every other hotel on the planet. The staff was very friendly and pleasant and the restaurant, The Grange, was excellent (but pricey). Neither the room nor the bathroom (which had only a shower, no tub) were very large, but they were certainly adequate. The bed was very comfortable. Although the room was clean overall, the clock radio was dusty. One of the bathroom lights was burned out. there's wifi and wired internet, but you have to pay $10/day. There was a club across the street that was very noisy until well after midnight.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dephal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    296
    85
    30
    21
See reviews for
112
255
56
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Tired of the same old business hotels, I tried the Citizen on a colleague's recommendation. He was right; the decor throughout the hotel celebrates Sacramento's political culture and makes a refreshing change from the anonymity of chain hotels. The restaurant and bar are top-notch, and served innovative California cuisine, with a focus on fresh, local ingredients. The rooms are tasteful and well-appointed, although I would prefer more dresser space on my longer stays. The hotel staff is excellent. On my second stay, the shift manager greeted me with recognition and remembered my room preferences. On my third stay, we were in town for a hearing and required a "war room," dedicated to managing files; the hotel was happy to provide it at a reasonable rate and provided quick service whenever we needed assistance with it. I will stay here at every opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma, washington
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2010

THE perfect location for a Girls' Weekend. Door to door, a remarkable hotel. From the suite that was decorated with balloons, streamers, wine, champagne and chocolates to the MOST comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I would go back in a second. Service is understated and impeccable. Food and service at Grange was incredible and scrumptious. This is the only place to stay in Sacramento.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We stayed over night at The Citizen Hotel recently. (Thanks to Priceline bidding process) DH was weary since boutique hotels and young kids did not seem to mix however, we were pleasantly surprised. We were assigned a corner room ("artist's loft"-that's what the check in desk called it) which was beautifully decorated. There was a small hall area within the room that was just big enough for our preschoolers play on the carpet. There was a flat screen TV, steam iron, safe and a IPhone system however, there was no clock. The room and bathroom were extremely clean and offered "fragrance" free facial soap which was nice. Note - there is only a shower in the bathroom. Although we did not order room service, it looks like the hotel does offer reasonably priced kids meals as well.

DH was very impressed that the valets called him by name when he called down to get the car. There is a $25 per night valet parking charge which we felt was high so I'm going to take off one star on this review.

We would stay here again and would consider staying at another Joie de Vivre hotel in the future since it was such a positive experience..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Downtown Sacramento used to have the Hyatt and that was pretty much it. The Citizen Hotel provides a nice alternative to those who dislike the cookie cutter chain hotels. The Citizen is very comfortable. Nice beds, nice ambiance, nice linens and shampoos, very good restaurant, and all the little niceties of a boutique hotel.

Granted, with a unique stay, you will have to deal with some drawbacks...no on-site self-parking, no swimming pool, rooms on the smallish side. Some will call it crowded, others will call it quaint. Personally, I call it a trade off that I'm more than willing to accept.

Overall, I'd say that the Citizen provides that dose of variety when you're tired of the regular "you know what to expect" chain hotels. Would I like that with every hotel stay? Probably not. But I do think that the Citizen provides an excellent alternative. It's not for everyone's tastes, but it does please my desire for something different.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swirlinabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We spent a weekend in Sacramento during our recent california vacation. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the State Capitol in one of the nicest buildings in the area. Our 12th floor room was very comfortable, and nicely decorated. It was a bit lacking in drawer space (plenty of hanging though) and the bathroom was small - again without much room to lay things out. The surrounding area (other than the Capitol) doesn't offer much, and might be viewed as a little "worn" However, there is the fantastic Temple Coffee House right round the corner , and Old Sacramento is within easy walking distance. We also walked the 7+ blocks down to the Fox & Goose on a friday evening without problem. The hotel is obviously very popular for weddings, and although we did hear some noise from one it didn't cause us any disturbance. I don't think there is enough in Sacramento to bring us back, but if circumstances changed we would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The Citizen is a neat boutique hotel in downtown. The service staff was very helpful. The room was small in size bit decorated very nicely. The bathroom was also small but fully functional. The Grange restaurant was excellent. Terrific, high quality meal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaldinho22771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 926 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2703
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citizen Hotel's unique combination of historic charm and sleek modern amenities brings a new kind of luxury to downtown Sacramento. Treat yourself to unexpected elegance. No two rooms are exactly alike, so you'll get a different perspective of downtown Sacramento each time you visit us. On the historic 13th floor, for example, you'll find gorgeous tile mosaics in the large bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Citizen Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizen Hotel Sacramento
Citizen Boutique Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing